Outdoors Magazine

World Cup Albstadt: Statistics

Posted on the 16 May 2013 by Worldxcmtb @worldxcmtb

# 676 athletes from 40 countries are registered to take part in the World Cup opener that takes place in Albstadt, Germany from 17 to 19 May, 2013. The largest contingent, however, doesn’t come from Germany. The Swiss cross-country nation is on the first spot with 92 athletes. The German Cycling Federation (BDR) will send 70 athletes to the cross-country and sprint races. France comes with 72 athletes.

# Regarding the continents, Asia represents the smallest contingent with four athletes. These are the strong Yamamoto Kohei (26th in the world rankings) and his compatriot, the U23 rider Toki Sawada,as well as the Korean Sang Hoon Na (Elite) and Iranian Mohsen Ramezani Alavi.

# Albstadt is the 176th Cross Country World Cup in the official history of the UCI Mountain Bike World Cup, which began in 1991.

# 16th are held on German soil; six times in St. Wendel and five times in Offenburg.

# Only six male riders on the start list of World Cup opener have ever won a world cup. These are Julien Absalon (25), Nino Schurter (7), José Antonio Hermida (6), Jaroslav Kulhavy (6), Ralph Naef (2) and Florian Vogel (2).

# In the elite women’s category there are ten riders. Gunn-Rita Dahle Flesjaa (28), Catharine Pendrel (10), Irina Kalentieva (7), the injured Julie Bresset (4), Elisabeth Osl (3), Maja Wloszczowska (3), Eva Lechner , Nathalie Schneitter, Sabine Spitz and Nina Wrobel (1 each).

# In the men’s category, there is a head-to-head race in terms of World Cup victories per nation. France has 43 wins, against 42 Swiss successes. The Swiss could catch up in Albstadt.

# In the women’s category, the battle is between USA and Canada, with 36 and 34 winsrespectively.

# In the elite men’s category, the last German victory in the World Cup Olympic Cross-country discipline dates back exactly 20 years. Mike Kluge won in Houffalize, Belgium in 1993. Afterwards, Wolfram Kurschat climbed on the podium in 2009, followed by Manuel Fumic in 2010. Both men were second, both in Houffalize.

# No German woman has won a World Cup for the past seven years. The last winner was Nina Wrobel (formerly Göhl)in Fort William, Scotland in 2006. She is now back in the World Cup game after five years of absence.

Source: press release

Back to Featured Articles on Logo Paperblog