Books Magazine

Top Ten Tuesday: Books If You Like X TV Show/Movie

By Mle_vnc @Backlist_Books
Top Ten Tuesday: Books If You Like X TV Show/Movie
This week's Top Ten Tuesday on The Broke and the Bookish is "Top Ten Books If You Like X TV Show/Movie/Comic/Play etc." I get to pick what "X" represents. Because I'm pathologically bad at decisions and because I want EVERYTHING all at once, I'm going to do a few different things with this post. Here we go!
1. If you like the movie Amélie...
http://www.socialanxietysupport.com/forum/f18/biggest-peeves-at-university-w-gifs-247025/index25.html
This is one of my favorite movies of all time. I loved Amélie's sense of the whimsical, her ability to take a normal life and make it into a colourful adventure. And while no books quite manage to equal Amélie's wide-eyed, rosy tinted view of the world, there are some that come close: The Storied Life of A.J. Fikry, The Rosie Project, and The Silver Linings Playbook. I've also heard that The Elegance of the Hedgehog is recommended for Amélie fans, but I haven't read it yet!
2. The Walking Dead
http://uproxx.com/tv/2012/11/10-things-we-learned-from-last-nights-nail-chewing-episode-of-the-walking-dead/
What I love most about The Walking Dead is that the characters are survivors. They've been through some shit, but they've learned to hold their own and keep on going. The Razorland Trilogy has the obvious similarity of involving zombie-like creatures. But that's not why I associated it with this show. It's because of the badassness of the characters and their ability to find purpose and will to survive even in grim circumstances. I'd also recommend these books to fans of the movie 12 Monkeys - but that's mostly because I picture the setting to be similar.
3. Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas
http://giphy.com/gifs/bzQ9MyHlSqa0E
Okay, so I know this was originally a book, so it's kind of cheating, but still. Grasshopper Jungle. It had to be done.
4. Titanic
http://languagelabunleashed.org/2014/03/enter-the-tugboats/
These Broken Stars. Let me just say up front that I'm not a Titanic fan. The bit in that GIF? Probably my favorite part. But if you do like it, you'll like this book.
5. Criminal Minds
http://www.fanpop.com/clubs/penelope-garcia/images/35689295/title/penelope-garcia-fanart
While the obvious choice for this is Mindhunter (John Douglas is credited with helping create the BAU, and I believe some episodes are based on his actual cases), I'm also including The Naturals. It's kind of a YA version of a similar idea, and CM kept popping into my head as I was reading.
6. The Lake House
http://www.worstpreviews.com/review.php?id=54
The Griffin and Sabine books by Nick Bantock. Except that the books are much, much better.
7. Felicity
Top Ten Tuesday: Books If You Like X TV Show/Movie
Fangirl. There's a similar theme of being overwhelmed when faced with the world of college. There's also a fantastic roommate - the whole time I was reading I just kept thinking of Megan!
8. Big Fish
http://giphy.com/gifs/YnUmEJrDWPny0
The Night Circus. I haven't read the whole thing yet, but there's a similar sense of wonderment to it. Though less of the absurd.
9. Star Crossed
http://www.nerdlikeyou.com/good-bad-geeky-tv-shows-cant-wait/
Obsidian, Alienated, Roswell (show and book series). I haven't read Alienated yet, but when I started watching Star Crossed what I'd read in reviews popped into my head... and stuck there. 
Almost made it to ten....

You Might Also Like :

Back to Featured Articles on Logo Paperblog

These articles might interest you :

Magazines