Society Magazine

Shahbaz Sharif Elected as Punjab Chief Minister for Third Time

Posted on the 06 June 2013 by Azharnadeem

Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) leader Mian Shahbaz Sharif on Thursday elected as the chief minister of Punjab for the record third time.

Shahbaz received 300 votes while his rival Mian Mehmoodur Rashid, a joint candidate of the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf and the Pakistan Muslim League-Quaid (PML-Q), secured 34 votes.

Pakistan Peoples’ Party (PPP) and the Jamat-i-Islami had not fielded its candidate for the slot.

Speaker Punjab Assembly Rana Muhammed Iqbal presided the session where the election for chief minister took place. There were two lobbies formed for the election of leader of the house.

The right lobby was reserved for the supporters of Shahbaz Sharif while the left was reserved for the Mehmoodur Rashid’s supporters.

Counting started after the completion of voting procedure after which speaker Rana Muhammed Iqbal affirmed the victory of Shahbaz Sharif.

 Shahbaz Sharif will take the oath of his office at the Governor’s House today.

Back to Featured Articles on Logo Paperblog