Outdoors Magazine

It's Tour De France Time Again

By Jobsanger

It's Tour de France Time Again ! Regular readers of this blog will know that the Tour de France is one of my favorite sporting events of the year. I love the courage, endurance, and athleticism displayed in this nearly month-long event.
This year's race will mark the 100th running of the Tour de France bicycle race. The race will have 21 separate stages, and will cover a total of 3,479 kilometers. There will be 7 flat stages, 5 hilly stages, 6 mountain stages, 2 time trials, and 1 team time trial. The race will start for the first time on Corsica (where the first 3 stages will be run). Stage 1 will be tomorrow, June 29th, and the final stage will be on Sunday, July 21st.
Awards will be given for the overall winner with the best time (yellow jersey), the best sprinter (green jersey), the best climber in the mountains (polka dot jersey), the best young rider (white jersey), and the best team with the fastest overall combined time.
As usual, I will be making daily posts -- giving you the first three finishers of each stage, plus the combined running totals for the yellow, green, polka dot, and white jerseys, along with the team standings. If the race doesn't interest you, then skip these daily posts -- and rest assured that I will also be making my regular posts.
This year there are 22 teams that will compete. Here is the list of teams, along with the country they represent:
AG2R La Mondiale (France)
Astana (Kazakhstan)
Blanco (Netherlands)
BMC Racing (United States)
Cannondale (Italy)
Cofidis (France)
Euskaltel-Euskadi (Spain)
FDJ (France)
Garmin-Sharp (United States)
Katusha (Russia)
Lampre-Merida (Italy)
Lotto-Belisol (Belgium)
Movistar (Spain)
Omega Pharma-Quick Step (Belgium)
Orica Greenedge (Australia)
Radioshack Leopard (Luxembourg)
Sky Procycling (Great Britain)
Sojasun (France)
Argos-Shimano (Netherlands)
Europcar (France)
Saxo-Tinkoff (Denmark)
Vacansoleil-DCM (Netherlands)

Back to Featured Articles on Logo Paperblog

Paperblog Hot Topics