Healthy Living Magazine

Hidden and Not-so-hidden Milk Ingredients

By Dotchi Latham @DotchiLatham
If you are allergic to milk, you may be consuming it in your foods without realizing it. 

If you are reading labels carefully, you might see a label that states "contains milk". Then you read the ingredients but can't figure out where the milk is in your "non-dairy" product. Well, that's because some ingredients aren't called milk, but come from milk.

Here is a list of things to look for on your food labels when you are trying to figure out if it has milk or not. The ones with a * MAY contain milk.

I am listing the obvious ones (like buttermilk) and the not so obvious ones (like casein).

Hidden and Not-so-hidden Milk Ingredients

Glass of Milk. From: RoshniPaulSoulSearches

Milk Ingredients List/ Foods that contain milk
  • Acidophilus Milk
  • Ammonium Caseinate
  • Artificial Butter Flavor
  • Artificial Flavoring *
  • Butter
  • Butter Fat
  • Butter Oil
  • Butter Solids
  • Buttermilk
  • Buttermilk powder
  • Calcium caseinate
  • Casein
  • Caseinate, in general
  • Caramel flavoring *
  • Cheese, All animal based
  • Condensed milk
  • Cottage Cheese
  • Cream
  • Curds
  • Custard
  • Delactosed whey
  • Demineralized whey
  • Dry milk powder
  • Dry milk solids
  • Egg Nog (So Delicious Coconut Milk Nog is Dairy Free!)
  • Evaporated milk
  • Fat replacer *
  • Flavoring
  • Galactose *
  • Ghee (clarified butter)
  • Goat milk
  • Half and Half
  • High protein flour *
  • High Protein foods * (for example (High energy bars)
  • Hot Dogs *
  • Hydrolyzed casein 
  • Hydrolyzed milk protein
  • Hydrolyzed Vegetable Protein or HVP *
  • Ice cream
  • Ice milk
  • Iron Caseinate
  • Kefir 
  • Koumiss or Kumiss
  • Lactalbumin
  • Lactic Acid Starter Culture *
  • Lactic Yeast
  • Lactitol monohydrate 
  • Lactobacillus *
  • Lactoferrin
  • Lactoglobulin
  • Lactose
  • Lactulose
  • Low-fat milk
  • Luncheon Meat *
  • Magnesium Caseinate
  • Malted milk
  • Margarine * (most contain whey)
  • Milk
  • Milk derivative
  • Milk fat
  • Milk powder
  • Milk protein
  • Milk solids 
  • Natural butter flavor
  • Natural Flavoring *
  • Nisin preparation
  • "Non-dairy" cheese * 
  • "Non-Dairy" products * (may contain whey or casein)
  • Nonfat milk
  • Nougat
  • Paneer
  • Potassium caseinate
  • Prebiotics
  • Protein foods *
  • Pudding
  • Quark
  • Recaldent
  • Rennet Casein
  • Rice Cheese *
  • Sausage
  • Skim milk
  • Simplesse®
  • Sodium caseinate
  • Sour cream
  • Sour Cream Solids
  • Sour milk solids
  • Soy Cheese *
  • Sweetened condensed milk
  • Sweet whey
  • Whey
  • Whey powder
  • Whey protein concentrate
  • Whey protein hydrolysate
  • Whipped cream
  • Whipped topping
  • Whole Milk
  • Yogurt
  • Zinc Caseinate
Is this list a little long? Don't panic! Kids with Food Allergies has a printable card you can take with you to help you remember these. Not all milk ingredients are on the card since I am getting the list from a few sources. It will give you a good head start though.  Printable Cards! From Kids With Food Allergies You can find the printable milk allergy travel card here. Here is a larger one that you can print and put on your fridge. Click here to see it. See something that needs to be on this list? Did I miss something that contains milk? Shoot me an email and I'll add it to the list.
Reading around the web: Go Dairy Free A very helpful website with a lot of information for avoiding milk and milk derivatives. Resources for this post Kellymom Kids With Food Allergies Wikipedia Web MD My experiences with trial and error

You Might Also Like :

Back to Featured Articles on Logo Paperblog

These articles might interest you :

  • Opera Review: A Piece of Fairy Cake

    Opera Review: Piece Fairy Cake

    Joyce DiDonato sings a radiant Cendrillon at the Met. by Paul J. Pelkonen The lighting department: Joyce DiDonata as Cinderella in Massenet's Cendrillon.Photo b... Read more

    8 hours, 14 minutes ago by   Superconductor
  • What Mother Can’t Get Her Childs Birth Date Right?

    What Mother Can’t Childs Birth Date Right?

    I haven’t blogged in about ten thousand years. Since the Earth is only around 6 thousand years old, I take full responsibility for messing up that Math for you... Read more

    9 hours, 51 minutes ago by   Rachel Rachelhagg
  • FIREFIGHTER – Seattle Fire Department (WA)

    FIREFIGHTER Seattle Fire Department (WA)

    City of Seattle Fire Department, (WA) FIREFIGHTER Salary:  $72,900.00 annually ****To reserve your spot, please sign up!**** City of Seattle Fire Dept. (WA)... Read more

    11 hours, 53 minutes ago by   Firecareers
  • Afghanistan: Once Again a Pawn Between Two World Powers

    Afghanistan: Once Again Pawn Between World Powers

    by Jon PhillipsRESTREPO chronicles the deployment of a platoon of US soldiers at one of the most dangerous outposts in Afghanistan. Read more

    The 19 April 2018 by   Rvbadalam
  • Abu Dhabi to Dubai

    Dhabi Dubai

    Most of the people who are living in the United Arab Emirates. Trying figure out how to travel between Abu Dhabi to Dubai. On the positive side, traveling... Read more

    The 19 April 2018 by   Dubai City Company
  • Video: Kilimanjaro - Mountain of Greatness Trailer

    Video: Kilimanjaro Mountain Greatness Trailer

    This video is a trailer for a full-length documentary called Kilimanjaro: Mountain of Greatness. It follows mountain bikers Hans Rey, Danny MacAskill and Gerhar... Read more

    The 19 April 2018 by   Kungfujedi
  • A Full Spectrum of Poses and Practices

    Full Spectrum Poses Practices

    by NinaOne of the reasons I started the Photo of the Day project on Facebook was because of the way older people are typically portrayed in the media: almost... Read more

    The 19 April 2018 by   Ninazolotow