Sports Magazine

Faf Du Plessis Appointed South Africa’s T20 Captain

By Azharnadeem

Faf du PlessisExplosive batsman Faf du Plessis has been appointed South Africa’s full-time Twenty20 captain. The two match series, starting from next month, will be his first probation.

AB de Villiers’ request to stand down from the role opened became gain of Du Plessis. De Villiers will continue to lead the team in the ODI format.

Veteran all-rounder Jacques Kallis, who missed home series against New Zealand, has been rested from the limited-overs squad in wake of his workload management.

Dale Steyn has been rested from the T20 squad that will play two shortest format games against Pakistan on March 1 and March 3 in Durban and Centurion respectively following the conclusion of ongoing Test series but will spearhead the pace attack in ODI series.

Fast bowler Morne Morkel, who has been ruled out of the third and final Test starting from Friday in Centurion with a hamstring strain, has been named in ODI squad but will be replaced Kyle Abbott for the T20 matches. Abbott has also replaced him in the third Test.

The five-match ODI series between the two sides will get underway at Bloemfontein on March 10.

Twenty20 squad: Faf du Plessis (capt), Kyle Abbott, Henry Davids, Rory Kleinveldt, Quinton de Kock, Lonwabo Tsotsobe, AB de Villiers, Ryan McLaren, Farhaan Behardien, David Miller, Justin Ontong, Chris Morris, Robbie Peterson, Aaron Phangiso,

ODI squad: AB de Villiers (capt), Farhaan Behardien, Hashim Amla, Rory Kleinveldt, Ryan McLaren, Graeme Smith, Aaron Phangiso, Dale Steyn, Robin Peterson, David Miller, Morne Morkel, Faf du Plessis, Colin Ingram, Lonwabo Tsotsobe,.

Back to Featured Articles on Logo Paperblog