Sports Magazine

Anil Kumble Appointed as Chairman ICC Cricket Committe

By Azharnadeem

Anil Kumble appinted Chairman ICC cricket committeeFormer Indian Captain Anil Kumble has been appointed as Chairman of ICC cricket committee. He will replace former West Indies Captain Clive Lloyd. His name was unanimously approved by ICC. Anil Kumble has a wonderful cricketing record he grabbed 619 Test and 337 One-Day International wickets.

“In Anil Kumble, we have a new chairman who has unquestioned experience not only as a player with India but also as an administrator because of his association with the Karnataka State Cricket Association (KSCA). I am sure he will carry on Clive’s good work and bring contemporary thinking to the committee and understand clearly the issues facing the modern game,” ICC president Alan Isaac said.

He has been appointed for a two year term. ICC cricket committee meets twice a year and oversees rules of the game. ICC cricket committee is the only platform form to bring in changes in game of cricket in terms of rules and regulations.

The changes brought in to the game during 2012 by ICC cricket committee includes

  • Increase in number of bouncers permitted to a bowler within one over.
  • Abolishment of bowling power play.
  • Reduction in number of fielders outside the 30-yard circle.

The ICC Board also decided to extend the contracts of Mark Taylor and David Kendix for one more term. Board also approved appointment of Former England Captain Andrew Strauss as member of ICC Cricket committee. He will replace Ian Bishop of West Indies. Ian Bishop was a lanky fast bowler who played alongside Curtly Ambrose. Both of them made a deadly pair of opening strike bowlers.

Under Anil Kumble ICC Cricket Committee is expected to bring in more charm and balance in game of cricket through his wide international experience.

The ICC Cricket Committee:

  1. Anil Kumble
  2. Dave Richardson
  3. Allan Isaac
  4. Geoff Allardice
  5. Andrew Strauss
  6. Mark Taylor
  7. Kumar Sangakkara
  8. Tim May
  9. Gary Kirsten
  10. Clare Connor
  11. David White
  12. Trent Johnston
  13. Ravi Shastri
  14. Steve Davis
  15. Ranjan Madugalle
  16. David Kendix.

Back to Featured Articles on Logo Paperblog