Entertainment Magazine

Sunshine & The Blue Moon: Welcome To The Future

Posted on the 13 September 2016 by Hctf @hctf
Sunshine & The Blue Moon: Welcome To The Futurephoto: Laura-Lynn Petrick

The California folk rock sound traveled West and found a home in Toronto. Quintet Sunshine & The Blue Moon's new album Welcome To The Future is filled with twangy, slow moving songs about love, loneliness, cowboys and heartbreak. It's tempting to pigeonhole them as a neo-hippie band, but by inserting a bit of prog and garage rock in their melodies their vintage inklings are spiced up with a few extra layers that require a couple of undisturbed run-throughs to fully dissect.

Stand-out tracks are the melancholic Buffalo Child and the pair of "Lucy" songs, with Sunshine & Lucy describing the start of a relationship and Lucy showing the first cracks and doubts. Recommended if you like Love, The Modern Lovers and The Byrds.

Sunshine & The Blue Moon: Welcome To The Future

Welcome To The Future is released thru The Hand Recordings (CD, vinyl). Release date: September 16th.

  1. Never Looking Back
  2. Welcome To The Future
  3. Sunshine & Lucy
  4. Depression
  5. Lucy
  6. Buffalo Child
  7. Cowboy
  8. Tear Me Up
  9. Anything But Sweet

Live dates:
  • 09/16 Toronto, CA @ Silver Dollar
  • 09/16 Halifax, CA @ Gus' Pub

» Sunshine & The Blue Moon on Facebook

Back to Featured Articles on Logo Paperblog