Entertainment Magazine

REWIND: Ruts D.C. Vs Mad Professor - 'Whatever We Do' (12" Mix)

Posted on the 10 February 2015 by Rw/ff @rwffmusic
Ruts D.C. were formed in 1981 when punk group The Ruts became a trio following the death of their singer Malcolm Owen. The "D.C." in Ruts D.C. stands for the Italian term da capo, meaning "back to the beginning". After releasing the 'Animal Heart' album in 1981, they teamed up with legendary dub producer Mad Professor for 1982's 'Rhythm Collision', which took their reggae influences to new levels. Both albums failed commercially, and Ruts D.C. split in 1983. After guitarist Paul Fox was diagnosed with cancer in 2007, the trio reconvened as The Ruts once again to play a one-off fundraising gig, featuring Henry Rollins on vocals. After Fox died in October 2007, remaining members John "Segs" Jennings and Dave Ruffy reunited as Ruts D.C to record some new tracks with Mad Professor at the controls, resulting in the 2013 album Rhythm Collision Vol. 2.

Although an instrumental version of 'Whatever We Do' opens the original 'Rhythm Collision', this 12" vocal rendition was released as a single just before the album's release in 1982.

You Might Also Like :

Back to Featured Articles on Logo Paperblog

These articles might interest you :