Entertainment Magazine

Johanna and The Dusty Floor: Northern Lights

Posted on the 09 September 2011 by Hctf @hctf
Johanna and The Dusty Floor width=photo: Jessie Sara English

Johanna Cranitch, lead singer and multi-instrumentalist for Johanna and The Dusty Floor was born in Australia, grew up in Hungary and ended up in New York, sounding really European. Catchy, dreamy folk songs with prominent back beat abound on Northern Lights. With her vocal range she is sharing a niche with likes of Kate Bush - a confident cover of Cloudbusting makes sure that the comparison will be made, but there are strains also strains of country in her phrasing not unlike Sahara Smith, and a lots of jazz (her grandfather was a respected piano player).

Johanna and The Dusty Floor are performing carefully crafted songs, but they are not afraid to make a sharp left to keep things interesting.

Johanna and The Dusty Floor: Northern Lights

Northern Lights is released on Red Valise Recordings.

  1. Witch Shoes
  2. Northern Lights
  3. Forest Of Sorrows
  4. Heavy Heart
  5. Creature
  6. Please Don't Go
  7. To Come To You
  8. I Had A Secret
  9. Cloudbursting
  10. Gone and Dusted Away
  11. In The Dark

(Johanna & The Dusty Floor - Forest Of Sorrows)

Video: Johanna and The Dusty Floor - Cloudbusting

Live dates:
  • 09/24 New York, NY @ National Underground
  • 10/14 Brooklyn, NY @ Cameo

» johannaandthedustyfloor.com

Back to Featured Articles on Logo Paperblog