Body, Mind, Spirit Magazine

How to Change Your Life by Benjamin Bonetti

By Aprilshowers

Two extracts from Benjamin Bonetti's book entitled "How to Change Your Life" published by Capstone:

  1. The importance of being "the real you".
  2. The Four Stages of Learning

"Be what you are. This is the first step toward becoming better than you are."

When defining the real you, and breaking down your real purpose, it's like that you'll discover a mix of two or perhaps more "people" within a single description. These are the "characters" that make up your personality. However, your mind can become confused when being too many people... imagine trying to rehearse for a play and having to remember the scripts for two or three people; how long do you think it would be before the message became jumbled and one turned into the other? You conscious, mind works in a similar way, so it makes sense to simplify things by effectively reducing the number of "characters" you have, combining all of the positive traits in each character to form the true you.

The Four Stages of Learning

This is the name given to a theory developed by Noel Burch at Gordon Training International in California in the 1970s.

Stage 1 - Subconscious Incompetence

In this stage, you are unaware of your incompetence so, in other words, you don't know that you don't know. You may be completely unaware or you may believe that the knowledge or skill you don't have is something you don't need; you're unaware of the positive benefits it could bring into your life. It only becomes possible to progress beyond this stage when you recognize for yourself that there's something you don't know and realize the benefits of changing your status through learning.

"Ignorance more frequently begets confidence than does knowledge." - Charles Darwin.

Stage 2 - Conscious Incompetence

In this stage, you haven't acquired the new knowledge or skill but you recognize the benefits of acquiring it. It's having an understanding of the benefits that not only allows you to begin the learning process, but also to accept the inevitable process of trial and error you're likely to go through on the way to acquiring it.

Stage 3 - Conscious Competence

In this stage, you have gained the new knowledge or earned the new skill but applying or practicing it takes concentrated effort; you're effectively still learning and embedding the new pattern or "setting the stone" through careful and deliberate repetition.

Stage 4 - Subconscious Competence

In this stage, the new knowledge or skill can be applied without consciously thinking about it and the learned pattern is now so firmly embedded that it can be demonstrated effortlessly. Any knowledge or skill you have acquired to the level of subconscious competence id something that feels like second nature to you.

Knowledge in this sense is power.

| Inspirational Words | Keep Your Thoughts Positive | Change Negative Thoughts into Positive Thoughts | Words To Live By | Overcoming Fear | A Reflection of Who You Are | 12 Steps to Self Care | Fear and Love Quote | Power of Thoughts | Emotions Chart | Emotional Maturity | Overcoming Self-Doubt | Please Listen Poem | SITEMAP |

Back to Featured Articles on Logo Paperblog