Entertainment Magazine

Absolutely Free: Aftertouch

Posted on the 23 September 2021 by Hctf @hctf
Absolutely Free: Aftertouch

Changes are that Canadian electronic neo-psych band Absolutely Free have carefully studied the handiwork Can drummer Jaki Liebezeit, using his steady motorik as the foundation for the tracks on their new album Aftertouch. Their dreamy post-punk musings are pessimistic, with a glimmer of hope breaking through every now and then.

Painting with broad strokes is their forte, but by adding a dash of color with a few choice notes to their soundscapes they made it a highly enjoyable sonic experience. Remaining Light is the album's highlight, with an old school keyboard pushing the track forward as they sing about police brutality and ethnic profiling that happens on a daily basis on the wrong side of the tracks. Gary Numan fans will love Are They Signs?, a hectic excursion with tons of echo on the vocals. Aftertouch is monolithic at first, but it worth to persist and discover the hidden layers and lines that come to fore after each replay.

Absolutely Free: Aftertouch

Aftertouch is a self-released album. Buy it (vinyl, digital) from their website.

  1. Epilogue (After Touch)
  2. How To Paint Clouds
  3. Interface
  4. Remaining Light
  5. Still Life
  6. Are They Signs?
  7. Clear Blue Sky
  8. Morning Sun

» absolutelyfree.ca

Back to Featured Articles on Logo Paperblog