Lifestyle Magazine

What I’ve Been Reading

By Lisaorchard @lisaorchard1

Hello everyone, I hope all is well with you. It’s Father’s Day weekend and it’s my last week of school. I’m so ready for the summer break. So today I thought I’d share with you a book I finished some time ago. It was very good and I’d recommend it to anyone who feels like escaping into a good story.

Before We were Yours

Before We Were Yours: A Novel by [Wingate, Lisa]

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • For readers of Orphan Train and The Nightingale comes a “thought-provoking [and] complex tale about two families, two generations apart . . . based on a notorious true-life scandal.”*

Memphis, 1939. Twelve-year-old Rill Foss and her four younger siblings live a magical life aboard their family’s Mississippi River shantyboat. But when their father must rush their mother to the hospital one stormy night, Rill is left in charge—until strangers arrive in force. Wrenched from all that is familiar and thrown into a Tennessee Children’s Home Society orphanage, the Foss children are assured that they will soon be returned to their parents—but they quickly realize the dark truth. At the mercy of the facility’s cruel director, Rill fights to keep her sisters and brother together in a world of danger and uncertainty.

Aiken, South Carolina, present day. Born into wealth and privilege, Avery Stafford seems to have it all: a successful career as a federal prosecutor, a handsome fiancé, and a lavish wedding on the horizon. But when Avery returns home to help her father weather a health crisis, a chance encounter leaves her with uncomfortable questions and compels her to take a journey through her family’s long-hidden history, on a path that will ultimately lead either to devastation or to redemption.

Based on one of America’s most notorious real-life scandals—in which Georgia Tann, director of a Memphis-based adoption organization, kidnapped and sold poor children to wealthy families all over the country—Lisa Wingate’s riveting, wrenching, and ultimately uplifting tale reminds us how, even though the paths we take can lead to many places, the heart never forgets where we belong.

*Library Journal

Praise for Before We Were Yours

“A [story] of a family lost and found . . . a poignant, engrossing tale about sibling love and the toll of secrets.”People

“Sure to be one of the most compelling books you pick up this year. . . . Wingate is a master-storyteller, and you’ll find yourself pulled along as she reveals the wake of terror and heartache that is Georgia Tann’s legacy.”Parade

“One of the year’s best books . . . It is impossible not to get swept up in this near-perfect novel.”The Huffington Post

“Lisa Wingate takes an almost unthinkable chapter in our nation’s history and weaves a tale of enduring power.”—Paula McLain, New York Times bestselling author of Circling the Sun

My Thoughts:

This story was a heartbreaking tale of a family broken apart by a money-hungry, evil woman. Although the characters are fictional, this story is based on actual events. It’s based on the real life scandal of Georgia Tann who kidnapped poor children and sold them to wealthy people. She defended her actions by stating that these children had better lives, but she never addresses the heartache she caused and the destruction she left in her wake when she tore these families apart.

The main character, Rill is a fighter, but she’s left with the guilt of not being able to keep her family together. How horrible to grow up and know you’ve got brothers and sisters, but not know where they are or what happened to them. I didn’t want to put this book down.

This is a must read for everyone. It will make you appreciate your family, especially your siblings.

Advertisements

You Might Also Like :

Back to Featured Articles on Logo Paperblog

These articles might interest you :

  • Visiting Abbey Road, London

    Visiting Abbey Road, London

    21 total views, 21 views today Destination Abbey Road On a recent trip to London with Mr & Mrs Foodie, and old Father Foodie one of the main attractions I... Read more

    The 18 July 2018 by   Emma
    DESTINATIONS, DINING OUT, FOOD & DRINK
  • The Adventure Podcast Episode 26: Turning Micro-Adventures into Macro-Adventures`

    Adventure Podcast Episode Turning Micro-Adventures into Macro-Adventures`

    It's Wednesday, which means only one thing –– a new episode of The Adventure Podcast. This week, we're exploring the idea of micro-adventures and how to turn... Read more

    The 18 July 2018 by   Kungfujedi
    OUTDOORS
  • Recipe: Okra (ladies Finger) Top Or Okra Crown Chutney

    Recipe: Okra (ladies Finger) Crown Chutney

    While ‘trash cooking’ maybe a trend today, it is actually an age old practice that was meticulously followed during the yesteryears. Read more

    The 18 July 2018 by   Rashmi Gopal Rao
    TRAVEL
  • Recipe: Okra (ladies Finger) Top Or Okra Crown Chutney

    Recipe: Okra (ladies Finger) Crown Chutney

    While ‘trash cooking’ maybe a trend today, it is actually an age old practice that was meticulously followed during the yesteryears. Read more

    The 18 July 2018 by   Rashmi Gopal Rao
    DESTINATIONS, TRAVEL
  • Fuck Yes

    Fuck

    Today, this blog is six years old. Today, I share some recent reflections on this radical journey.~~~ I said yes to marrying my boyfriend because I was afraid... Read more

    The 18 July 2018 by   Polysingleish
    DATING, EROTICA, LOVE & SEX, RELATIONSHIPS, SEXUALITY
  • Yoga for Varicose Veins

    by RamHere on the YFHA blog there has been a number of discussions on varicose veins and the role of yoga in treating them. For example, see Baxter’s reply to... Read more

    The 18 July 2018 by   Ninazolotow
    FITNESS, HEALTH, HEALTHY LIVING
  • On the Occasion of the Centenary of the Anniversary of the Martyrdom of...

    Occasion Centenary Anniversary Martyrdom Elizaveta, Grand Duchess Russia

    Matthew 11.25-27There is no place for pride in our Christian faith.With God it does not matter if this world considers us ‘wise’.With God it does not matter if... Read more

    The 18 July 2018 by   Malcolmdrogers
    RELIGION, SPIRITUALITY

Magazine