Business Magazine

Watch Out for DomainVerification.Net Emails; Charging For ICANN Whois Verification

Posted on the 15 March 2016 by Worldwide @thedomains

Screen Shot 2016-03-15 at 11.56.36 AM

I got an email today which looks like one of those ICANN required verification emails that registrars have to send out to domain holders.

ICANN requires registrars to send a notice to verify whois information and “when a registrant does not respond for over 15 calendar days to a registrar’s inquiries regarding the accuracy of contact details or Whois data associated with the registration, the action can be to terminate or suspend the non-responsive registrant’s domain name, or to place a lock on the domain name registration until the registrar is able to validate information provided by the registrant.”

However, this email is coming from with the email address of  [email protected], not the domain registrar the domain is registered with.

The domain name was just registered on December 31, 2015.

The notice actually refers to the ICANN verification rule, both on top of the notice, as you can see from the screenshot and also below the notice where it says:

“Please update within 24-48 hours to avoid domain name suspension. ICANN, the internet Corporation for Assigned Names and Numbers, requires that all domain registrars maintain correct and current WHOIS contact data for domain owners.”

In this case however the notice is NOT coming from the registrar but a different company.

Of course your domain registrar does not charge you anything to verify your information as required by ICANN.

If you did pay money to verify your domain with but did not respond to a email from your domain registrar, I think your domain would wind up being suspended anyway.

The email asks you to click on a link to  say the whois info is Accurate or not accurate and no matter which you click on you go to the following site which is charging between $93.95 and $49.95 a year  ($9.95 for a 501 c-3)

Screen Shot 2016-03-15 at 12.09.15 PM

The site has in the about us section only a contact form, no address, phone number or email and nothing else about the site or the company behind it.

You Might Also Like :

Back to Featured Articles on Logo Paperblog

These articles might interest you :

  • Big Food Giants Manipulate Public Health Policy in China

    Food Giants Manipulate Public Health Policy China

    Coca-Cola is at it again. As soda sales decline in the United States and Europe, beverage companies look to emerging economies like China for growth. And, it... Read more

    The 15 January 2019 by   Dietdoctor
  • Jewellery for a Precious You

    Jewellery Precious

    Jewellery is always close to a woman’s heart. It completes her look and boost confidence. Considering the changing trends in jewellery fashion, it becomes... Read more

    The 15 January 2019 by   Dr.jenifer Sayyed
  • Rajshri Productions’ Next Is A Film On Friendship | Hum Chaar | Trailer

    Abhishek Dixit’s debut feature film Hum Chaar is a Bollywood film made under the banner of Rajshri’s film. Hum Chaar is written and directed by Abhishek Dixit. Read more

    The 15 January 2019 by   Themoviean
  • Saint Paul the First Hermit

    Saint Paul First Hermit

    Today is the feast day of Saint Paul the hermit. This is a sweet and delicate Oatmeal Bread topped with rolled oats and naturally sweetened with agave. Saint... Read more

    The 15 January 2019 by   Veronica46
  • Irupathiyonnaam Noottaandu | Teaser | Pranav Mohanlal | Arun Gopy

    Arun Gopy’s Irupathiyonnaam Noottaandu is an upcoming Malayalam action-drama feature film starring Pranav Mohanlal and Zaya David in the lead roles. Read more

    The 15 January 2019 by   Themoviean
  • A Year Of Body Positivity

    Year Body Positivity

    Last January, as I sat there on New Years eve all set to make the same old resolutions I've made year after year for as long as I can remember, I realised how... Read more

    The 15 January 2019 by   Sparklesandstretchmarks
  • Garden Bloggers Bloom Day – Jan 2019

    Garden Bloggers Bloom 2019

    Euphorbia rigidaWhen I went out to take the photos for this blog post I was surprised at how much was in flower dotted around the garden. Read more

    The 15 January 2019 by   Patientgardener