Travel Magazine

Washington, D.C. US State

By Vikasacharya

Washington, D.C., is the capital city of the United States, located between Virginia and Maryland on the north bank of the Potomac River. The city is home to all three branches of the federal government, as well as the White House, the Supreme Court and the Capitol Building. More than 500,000 people live in Washington, D.C. Washington, DC, the U.S. capital, is a compact city on the Potomac River, bordering the states of Maryland and Virginia. It's defined by imposing neoclassical monuments and buildings - including the iconic ones that house the federal government's 3 branches: the Capitol, White House and Supreme Court - but also its museums and performing-arts venues such as the Kennedy Center.On July 16, 1790, a compromise between Thomas Jefferson, Alexander Hamilton and James Madison-known as the Residence Act-was passed, declaring George Washington's selection of a site on the Potomac River as the nation's new permanent capital. As part of the agreement, the federal government assumed the states' debts.Citizens of the capital of the United States, who are deprived of voting representation in the national legislature, have been seeking statehood for years. On September 9, 1983, a Constitution and petition for statehood for New Columbia-as the new state would be called-was presented to Congress.

Back to Featured Articles on Logo Paperblog