Entertainment Magazine


Posted on the 17 July 2012 by Montgomerydrive @MontgomeryDrive

After a 5 year hiatus the experimental metal/alternative rock super group Tomahawk will be returning this fall with the album "Oddfellows". Tomahawk, the band comprised of Mike Patton (Faith No More, Mr. Bungle, Fantômas ), Duane Denison (The Jesus Lizard), John Stainer (Helmet, Battles) and now Trevor Dunn, also of Mr. Bungle and Fantômas, will be releasing the highly anticipated album through Ipecac Recordings. For those of you who may be unfamiliar with Ipecac Records please refer to my previous entry Ipecac Recordings & Fontana Distribution for some background on the label and their current distribution deal. Formed in 2000, Tomahawk released their first album, the self-titled Tomahawk in 2001. Prior to their hiatus the super group released Mit Gras (2003) and Anonymous (2007). Tomahawk toured extensively playing in numerous countries including the United States, Australia, Europe, and Japan. They generally headline shows but have been the supporting act for bands such as Tool. In July 2011, Mike Patton announced to Rolling Stone magazine that the fourth Tomahawk album was in the works. While working on the new album they released the Box Set titled “Eponymous to Anonymous”. All of these albums including the Box Set were released through the label Ipecac Recordings.
Click Below to Watch The 40 Second Teaser From Ipecac Recordings

Oddfellows was recorded at Easy Eye Sound Studio in Nashville and co-produced by Tomahawk and Collin Dupuis (The Black Keys, The Nocturnals). According to the guitarist Duane Denison, the LP is “dark and claustrophobic here, light and spacious there”. Tomahawk is scheduled to perform their first show in nearly a decade this October taking a part in the 2012 New Orleans Voodoo Music and Arts Experience. Additional dates will be announced soon. In the teaser it notes that Oddfellows will be available in Fall 2012 however it has since been announced that the album is in fact slated for a January 2013 release.
-Marshal Montgomery Drive

Back to Featured Articles on Logo Paperblog