Astronomy Magazine

The Constellations

Posted on the 28 March 2011 by Gabe12logan
The Constellation is a form of a complex of different star, named after a person, animal or object (usually from mythology). Astronomers use constellations to indicate the directions in space. For example, a great Andromeda Galaxy is located in the direction marked by a star that we call the Andromeda (a princess of Ethiopia in Greek mythology). Just as the shapes of clouds are not eternal, nor forms of constellations are not permanent, given that the stars move (albeit very slowly in the time scale of human life). Constellations of 100.000 years ago are completely different from today. Astronomers now divide the sky into 88 sectors and each was assigned traditional name of the constellation in that sector.
The Constellations
Astronomers officially recognize 88 constellations covering the entire sky of the northern and southern hemispheres. Currently, 14 men and women, 9 birds, two insects, 19 animals, 10 water creatures, two centaurs, one hair, a serpent, a dragon, the flying horse, a river and 29 moving objects represent the night sky (the total number is over 88 because some constellations include more than one creature). You must know that the names of these stars do not really match the best real forms they represent. Those who gave them these names are doing more of a symbolic, not literal to represent your favorite animals and characters, something like the stellar "list of celebrities".
These constellations are: Andromeda, Coma Berenices, Taurus, Gemini, Virgo, Caelum, Delphinus, Eridanus, Phoenix, Corvus, Columba, Lacerta, Hercules, Indus, Capricornus, Monoceros, Vela, Corona Australis, Piscis Austrinus, Crux, Triangulum Australe, Chamaeleon, Cassiopeia, Cepheus, Fornax, Centaurus, Sculptor, Cetus, Carina, Auriga, Pyxis, Puppis, Cygnus, Leo, Volans, Lyre, Vulpecula, Canes Venatici, Hydrus, Leo Minor, Ursa Minor, Canis Minor, Microscopium, Reticulum, Musca, Octans, Ara, Aquila, Orion, Aries, Pavo, Pegasus, Crater, Perseus, Apus, Cancer, Norma, Pisces, Lynx, Horologium, Sextans, Corona Borealis, Pictor, Mensa, Sagitta, Sagittarius, Circinus, Scorpius, Scutum, Telescopium, Triangulum, Tucana, Libra, Ursa Major, Canis Major, Hydra, Aquarius, Boötes, Lupus, Lepus, Dorado, Draco, Serpens, Ophiuchus, Antlia, Grus, Equuleus and Camelopardalis.

Back to Featured Articles on Logo Paperblog