Books Magazine

Spider’s Lullaby

By Brian Abbott
Novella by James R. Tuck

Novella by James R. Tuck

The first clue was the door… open ever so slightly. “The second clue was the bittersweet scent of Were-spider blood drifting from inside the house.” Yikes!

Spider’s Lullaby begins with Deacon Chalk, Occult Bounty Hunter—”have silver bullets, will travel”—and his lady friends, Charlotte and Tiff, returning to Charlotte’s place after a night of binge drinking. Fortunately, Deacon’s not too drunk to recognize the danger they’re about to walk into.

Deacon’s “stronger, faster, and tougher than plain old human” with abilities that lend themselves to hunting monsters. He is a 6-foot-4, muscled mountain of a man with a tortured past. His family was “ritualistically slaughtered” for an arcane sacrifice. A memory that surfaces to haunt him periodically.

Right now, he’s sniffing out were-spider blood and finding corpses split in two and others with gaping bullet wounds. Then they head downstairs, “the sides and ceiling of the stairs coated in webbing.” They discover “the egg sac is gone and so is Ronnie.”

Once’s he’s ascertained there’s no imminent danger, Deacon hunts for clues. No shell casings have been left behind, but he’s able to extract bullets, .45’s. And they’re silver.

“This was done by someone who knew they were hitting a lycanthrope’s home,” Deacon says. A professional job. Now, he will have to find the egg before it hatches, before dawn. Let’s just say it would be really bad if Deacon doesn’t find it in time. As for Ronnie, she’s a friend and employee of Deacon’s who may just end up as spider food for the hatchlings.

And eww… Deacon’s initial investigation continues, and how he learns a katana was used is just… eww.

Then it’s off to a special club called Cordite to talk to the Russian for information. Ivan Dragonovich—and yes, he’s an actual dragon—knows the ins-and-outs of the world of hitmen, and Deacon suspects he’ll be able to point them in the direction of the hired killer responsible for the mess in Charlotte’s house. Indeed, Ivan is able to direct Deacon and co., but is the katana-wielding killer working on his own or for someone else?

Deacon and co. head to a warehouse full of crates with drugs and firearms in a derelict section of town. They have stun batons for the grunts and their own arsenal for the boss. It’ll be an epic battle. One more difficult than they can imagine.

There’s a certain “ick factor” during parts of the story, especially the initial scene of the crime. Evocative language stirs up nightmare-inducing imagery, especially for arachnophobes (helped along by the cover image). Some secondary characters here are well-written. Charlotte is suitably cold and alien—and creepy—as the spider mama, and Tiff and Ronnie are tough gals that are more than capable of fighting alongside Deacon.  I found Ivan, the Russian dragon, particularly intriguing as a briefly-met character.

Spider’s Lullaby is the second novella by author James R. Tuck, and its story is set after the events of Blood and Bullets, the first book in the series. Tuck’s first novella, That Thing at the Zoo, was a prequel to the series’ first book. The Deacon Chalk: Occult Hunter series are hardcore action-adventure, horror, urban fantasy stories that may appeal to fans of Dean Koontz and Rob Thurman.

Please note that James R. Tuck’s novellas are currently only available in ebook form, but widely available.


You Might Also Like :

Back to Featured Articles on Logo Paperblog

These articles might interest you :

  • 6 Ways To Be A Business Leader As Well As A Developer

    Ways Business Leader Well Developer

    Almost every entrepreneur starts their journey by developing a solution, based on their idea of a new technology or required service. These idea and developer... Read more

    The 22 April 2018 by   Martin Zwilling
    BUSINESS, CAREER
  • Salone 2018 & Milan - Impressions

    Salone 2018 Milan Impressions

    A glimpse to the atmosphere and my impressions. Central Station Milan Beautiful details Along with the centuries old architectural beauties it is also the... Read more

    The 22 April 2018 by   Trendoffice
    HOME, INTERIOR DESIGN
  • Songs from '78: "King Tut"

    Songs from '78: "King Tut"

    Yes, my focus here is on all the great pop and rock that laid foundation for my radio addiction, 40 years ago. But why not include a joke song like Steve... Read more

    The 22 April 2018 by   Russellarbenfox
    SOCIETY
  • Do i Need a Visa for Dubai?

    Do I need a visa for Dubai?. This is a question you should answer. Moving to Dubai with our detailed guide for expatriates. With years of experience in the... Read more

    The 22 April 2018 by   Dubai City Company
    CAREER
  • Indulgeo Essentials Rose Gold Oil Vs TS Cosmetics 24K Gold Elixir

    Indulgeo Essentials Rose Gold Cosmetics Elixir

    | REVIEW COMPARISON Hello my lovely people out there !!! So after a long wait, I am finally sitting down to review and compare the two most famous gold... Read more

    The 22 April 2018 by   Khadija Beauty
    HAIR & BEAUTY, LIFESTYLE
  • A Parable

    Parable

    Once upon a time, in a land far, far away, there was a holiday known as Earth Day. Now, Earth Day was a poor holiday. She didn’t prostitute herself to... Read more

    The 22 April 2018 by   Steveawiggins
    POLITICS, RELIGION, SOCIETY
  • Here We Go Again!

    Here Again!

    Despite a not-so-good garden last year (deer, bunnies, blight, and bugs,) I found myself at it again yesterday, setting out parsley and thyme, kale and... Read more

    The 22 April 2018 by   Vickilane
    CREATIVITY, PHOTOGRAPHY

Magazines