Books Magazine

Sleepside: The Collected Fantasies by @RealGregBear

By Pamelascott
Classic fantasy stories from the Hugo and Nebula Award-winning author, "one of our very best, and most innovate, speculative writers" (New York Daily News).

Collecting six stories in old paradigms, Sleepside features Greg Bear's outstanding fantasy writing: "Webster," "The White Horse Child," "Sleepside Story," "Dead Run," "Through Road No Whither," and the Nebula Award finalist "Petra." This edition also includes the special introduction by the author: "On Losing the Taint of Being a Cannibal."

[Dry. It lingered in the air, a dead and sterile word made for whispers: WEBSTER]



(Open Road Media Sci-Fi & Fantasy, 29 April 2014, first published 1988, 240 pages, ebook, borrowed from @GlasgowLib via @OverDriveLibs)



Sleepside: Collected Fantasies @RealGregBear

The author's name is familiar so I'm pretty sure I've read some of his stories in various anthologies over the years. I liked the cover so decided to give the book a shot. I enjoyed almost all of the stories in the collection. The final story, The Way of All Ghosts did not work for me; it was too sci-fi heavy for my tastes. It wasn't a bad story but I didn't enjoy it as much as the others. All of the other stories were fantastic. I particularly enjoyed Sleepside Story, The Visitation and Petra. This is a good introduction to a new author and I will check out his other work.

Back to Featured Articles on Logo Paperblog