Destinations Magazine

Sinag Maynila 2016 Winners

By Ethel Merioles @kaxmerio

Sinag Maynila 2016

Sinag Maynila 2016 The independent film festival Sinag Maynila 2016 has just declared the winners last weekend! For 2016, the festival was opened to any Filipino independent filmmaker who wish to apply for a film grant. Conceptualized and helmed by Sinag Maynila CEO and Founder Wilson Tieng, the film fest awards grants to independent filmmakers, helping them hone their craft and expand their material to a full-length film. Tieng worked closely with the five chosen finalists and world-renowned and internationally acclaimed film director Brillante Mendoza. The collaboration resulted in stories that can resonate to a global audience while showcasing the Filipino culture. GREAT NEWS: Aspiring filmmakers may now submit entries for next year's film festival. Check out this year's jury and winners below. JURY: FULL LENGTH: Lav Diaz – Philippines, (Head of Jury) Ishizaka Kenji – Japan Philip Cheah – Singapore Roger Garcia – Hong Kong SHORT FILM: Joey Reyes Raymond Red Mark Meily LIST OF WINNERS: Best Film: MRS. Best Actress: Elizabeth Oropesa – MRS. Best Actor: Alvin Anson – Expressway Best Director: Adolfo Alix Jr. – MRS. Best Screenplay: Archie Del Mundo and Joselito Altarejos – T.P.O. Best Cinematography: Albert Banzon – MRS. Best Production Design: Marielle Hizon – Lila Best Editing: Benjamin Tolentino – Expressway Best Musical Score: Francis De Veyra – Expressway Best Sound: Drew Milallos – T.P.O Blink Box Office Film: Lila SM People’s Choice Award: Lila Short Film 1st Place: Apuhap Short Film Runners-Up: Ang Kapinunan Kan Mga Alon Sa Danaw (Where The Lake’s Ripples Begin) and The Foreseeing Samsung CinePhone 1st Place: 99% Samsung CinePhone 2nd Place: Litrato ng Nakaraan Samsung CinePhone 3rd Place: Espayb  

Back to Featured Articles on Logo Paperblog