Books Magazine

He Drank and Saw the Spider by Alex Bledsoe

By Mattnem05 @mattnem05

I received this book for free from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

He Drank and Saw the Spider by Alex BledsoeBuy the Book • He Drank, and Saw the Spider on Jan 14 2014
Genres: Action & Adventure, Fantasy & Magic
Pages: 320
Format: eBook
Source: NetGalley
Goodreads
For fans of Jim Butcher's Dresden Files and Glen Cook's Garrett PI novels, comes the newest installment in Alex Bledsoe’s Eddie LaCrosse series, He Drank and Saw the Spider.
After he fails to save a stranger from being mauled to death by a bear, a young mercenary is saddled with the baby girl the man died to protect. He leaves her with a kindly shepherd family and goes on with his violent life.
Now, sixteen years later, that young mercenary has grown up to become cynical sword jockey Eddie LaCrosse. When his vacation travels bring him back to that same part of the world, he can’t resist trying to discover what has become of the mysterious infant.
He finds that the child, now a lovely young teenager named Isadora, is at the center of complicated web of intrigue involving two feuding kings, a smitten prince, a powerful sorceress, an inhuman monster, and long-buried secrets too shocking to imagine. And once again she needs his help.
They say a spider in your cup will poison you, but only if you see it. Eddie, helped by his smart, resourceful girlfriend Liz, must look through the dregs of the past to find the truth about the present—and risk what might happen if he, too, sees the spider.

This is the 2nd book I read with Alex Bledsoes’ Eddie LaCrosse, and I liked this one as much as the first. In this story we see more of  Eddies’ past and what has made him the man he is. The interaction between Eddie and his girl Liz are often humorous, they really seem to be perfect for each other. The rest of the characters in this story are also very colorful, from the prince and the king who are there and pretending to be normal every day people. To the big huge spy who is pretending to be the princes’ companion. For the most part I think that almost all of the main characters, besides Eddie and Liz, are actually pretending to be something they aren’t even if they don’t realize it. The story is fast moving, with romance, adventure sword fights and fist fights thrown in for good measure. I liked the fact that even when Eddie didn’t have to do anything, he stuck around and tried to do his best to help the little baby he found many years ago and gave to a shepherd family to raise as their own. Now that Isadora is a grown teen and needs his help again he is there to solve the mystery to save this young girls life. That says something about the character I think, and this is one of those characters that I look forward to reading his next adventure.

Comments

comments


You Might Also Like :

Back to Featured Articles on Logo Paperblog

These articles might interest you :

  • Black and Gold Hues Wedding Inspiration with a Modern Flair

    Black Gold Hues Wedding Inspiration with Modern Flair

    Today, we’re sharing with you a wedding inspirational shoot that took place in Santorini, an ideal summer destination. An impressive table with black and gold... Read more

    12 hours, 3 minutes ago by   Eleni Balkouli
    LIFESTYLE, TRAVEL, WEDDING
  • A Fun Class

    Class

    Last night was the tenth and last meeting of my Wordplay class -- and what fun it's been! The students have written to prompts of taste, touch, smell, sound, an... Read more

    12 hours, 7 minutes ago by   Vickilane
    CREATIVITY, PHOTOGRAPHY
  • Concert Review: The Next Giant Steps

    Concert Review: Next Giant Steps

    Lawrence Brownlee in a fierce Liederabend at Zankel Hall. by Paul J. Pelkonen Tenor Lawrence Brownlee explored 19th century and contemporary song at Zankel... Read more

    14 hours, 16 minutes ago by   Superconductor
    CULTURE, THEATRE & OPERA
  • Roly Poly Rhubarb Pudding

    Roly Poly Rhubarb Pudding

    When I was a child I could hardly wait for Rhubarb Season to roll around. My mom would make us our favourite rhubarb pies. They were so tasty, served warm with... Read more

    15 hours, 7 minutes ago by   Mariealicerayner
    FOOD & DRINK, RECIPES
  • Why Dental Care Practices Need to Manage Their Online Reputation

    Dental Care Practices Need Manage Their Online Reputation

    In times when online reviews are playing a decisive role in customers’ decision making, healthcare providers cannot just sit back with folded hands, and let... Read more

    17 hours, 6 minutes ago by   Ajay Prasad
    BUSINESS, MARKETING & ADVERTISING
  • 12-year-old Stole His Parents’ Money and Ran Away on Holiday

    12-year-old Stole Parents’ Money Away Holiday

    A 12-year-old boy from Sydney, Australia stole the parent‘s credit card, tricked his grandmother to give him the passport, and went on a holiday in Bali after... Read more

    The 24 April 2018 by   Poundtravel
    TRAVEL
  • Sedo Weekly Sales Led by SysAdmin.com

    Sedo reported their weekly sales and SysAdmin.com led the way at $55,000. A.tel sold for $5,500, I have not seen a .tel sale in awhile. 40 .com sales 24 cctld... Read more

    The 24 April 2018 by   Worldwide
    BUSINESS, TECH