Gardening Magazine

End of Month Review November 2017

By Ozhene @papaver
It has turned cold, suddenly, definitely, deliberately, the temperatures have dropped towards zero.
End of Month Review November 2017 The vegetable borders, which have been sort of cleared for the winter, are looking frosty on the day I took these photographs.  The weather had had the audacity to have an unexpected little overnight snow.  Clearly not enough for snowshoes, but it was the first snow of the season.
End of Month Review November 2017 Whilst shivering slightly, the Knot Garden, if you ignore the weeds, is looking good.  It is very much on my mind at the moment as I know I want to revamp it somehow, but I still am not sure how.  I shall bore you with my ponderings for months most likely, but as usual until I decide what it is I want to do, I shall leave it be.
End of Month Review November 2017 Around to the back garden and the Long Shoot has been cleared of windfall apples (piled up for the birds and foxes to eat).
End of Month Review November 2017 The view up through the gap in the pleached hornbeans is pleasing in the golden weak sun of the day.  Bruce the cat sits and shines in the sunniest spot.
End of Month Review November 2017 Few things are as enjoyable as a cold sunny day this time of year.  This is the view from the Wild Garden up to the top of the garden.
End of Month Review November 2017 and then across the Dancing Lawn, a side view that has the Prairie Borders just visible to the left and the Exotic Border to the right.
End of Month Review November 2017 The Exotic Border is feeling cold, but still has green from the euphorbia and from the echiums that probably I should fleece up soon.
End of Month Review November 2017 The Prairie Borders look good this time of year.  They 'die well', something I had never thought of particularly until a garden designer friend said it to me once when we were out plant admiring.  It is now a concept I often keep in mind.
End of Month Review November 2017 The light divides the garden this time of year.  It was around 10am when I was out taking these photographs and the sun takes its time to reach the Formal Lawn.  This also means that the closer to the house it is the colder it is.  As I have lived with this garden I have learned it's climates which then shape my gardening decisions.
End of Month Review November 2017 The Courtyard is very shady, but as is demonstrated this does not prevent moss forming.  I have some moss removal to do.
End of Month Review November 2017 The small orange flowered edgeworthia that lives in a pot seems happy and has put on good growth this year.  It has quite a few buds forming.
End of Month Review November 2017 Back to the Four Sisters and the larger yellow flowered edgeworthia is settling in the for the winter.
End of Month Review November 2017 It is covered in buds this year, I am anxiously watching it as ever and excitedly waiting for it to flower.
End of Month Review November 2017 The teasel patch has been good this year, the birds and insects love it.
End of Month Review November 2017 The pond has that black thick look to it, it looks like you could walk on it.  I look into its depths and imagine frogs and larvae waiting for spring, waiting for warmth to return.
Thanks as ever to Steve for hosting this meme.

Back to Featured Articles on Logo Paperblog

Magazines