Gardening Magazine

End of Month Review December 2018

By Ozhene @papaver

I am writing this as 2018 draws to a close. It is an understatement to say it has been a bit of a year. December has been fairly mild and a bit rainy. The garden has been quite soggy so it has been difficult to achieve much in the garden. This is fine whilst the Christmas festivities are going on, but there reaches a point where I just long to be outside: weeding, pruning and just enjoying being in the garden.

End of Month Review December 2018

In the front driveway the mahonia is slowly gearing up to flower. The buds are looking nearly ready to burst. I thought it might be in flower by now, but it is making me wait.

End of Month Review December 2018

The Knot Garden is looking ok. I would not say I am delighted with it but it is not irritating me as it was the other week. It has had quite a weed and I have cut back some of the side shrubs. The cypress trees have put on a lot of growth this year, I can tell that they have now really got their roots reaching out into the soil. If these mild days continue I am going to give the box hedging a bit of a trim. It is still growing and as long as there is not imminent frost I think I can get away with it.

End of Month Review December 2018

These double hellebores are flowering in the front border by the house. They are not very tall but they reliably flower early in winter every year.

End of Month Review December 2018

The Varese planter I was given is now full of pansies and primulas. Someone keeps digging in it: it might be a fox-someone or a cat-someone; either is possible neither are welcome to do so. I keep pushing the plants back in and hoping they can get enough of a foothold to withstand this.

End of Month Review December 2018

It is the time of year when the Cardoor is starting to throw up its new foliage for next year.

End of Month Review December 2018

I leave the seed heads on until they fall over or until the spring is here and they need moving for the new growth. They are wonderful for insects to overwinter in and I think they give great height and shape in the garden.

End of Month Review December 2018

In the courtyard all is growing well....... well, maybe not everything....... you cannot quite see the Edgeworthia Red Dragon that shed all its leaves earlier this year. I am not totally convinced it is dead and I equally not convinced it is alive. I did that check of the stem to see if there was green underneath and there is, but there is no sign of life returning. Time will tell.

End of Month Review December 2018

The Rhododendron luteum has lots of buds ready for next year,

End of Month Review December 2018

as does the Camellia Debbie.

End of Month Review December 2018

Looking up into the backgarden the colour is mainly green and shades of brown.

End of Month Review December 2018

The early hamamelis, which I have tried to stake better so that it becomes a bit more upright, is flowering well. I know the stake is almost invisible, I chose a very discreet one.....

End of Month Review December 2018

The early snowdrops are in flower. Last year I said that these might be Mrs MacNamara, this year I am telling people they might be Robin Hood. This is clear evidence I have no idea and should have labelled them.

End of Month Review December 2018

The winter flowering cherry is just sparking into blossom. I am very fond of this tree, the joy given from winter blossom just cannot be underestimated.

End of Month Review December 2018

I always enjoy this view across the Prairie Borders. The coppery tones of the beech pillars work well with the blonde locks of the Stipa tenuissima.

End of Month Review December 2018

The straggly, sprawly but divinely scented winter honeysuckle spreads its perfume around the top of the garden.

End of Month Review December 2018

and Prunus Ben-chidori is bursting at the seams to start flowering.

End of Month Review December 2018

In the borders there are signs of the perennials starting to send out their new foliage.

End of Month Review December 2018

and the first signs of Galanthus 'Madeline' can be seen. Yes I did label this one, the labels are ugly, even pretty labels are ugly, but they serve a purpose.

End of Month Review December 2018

This is Salix Mount Aso, I bought it last year and quite frankly it did not live up to the hype. I had been wowed by pictures of its pink fluffy catkins; but it arrived with dirty greyish tassels that were way past their best. So I look at these nicely forming pink buds and I hope that it redeems itself.

End of Month Review December 2018

The vegetable borders are pretty sparse at the moment, but the broccoli is thinking about broccoling and the bed of self-sown cerinthe in the background is thriving.

End of Month Review December 2018

The greenhouse is not very full and I have not fleeced it yet as the temperature has barely dipped below freezing with any concerted effort.

End of Month Review December 2018

and the pond is not yet full, but is it getting more full. It is now recognisably a pond again which is a good thing.

My thanks as ever go to Helen for hosting this meme. I also pause to wish all my readers a happy christmas and new year. I hope that 2019 is a better year for all of us.


You Might Also Like :

Back to Featured Articles on Logo Paperblog

These articles might interest you :

  • Big Food Giants Manipulate Public Health Policy in China

    Food Giants Manipulate Public Health Policy China

    Coca-Cola is at it again. As soda sales decline in the United States and Europe, beverage companies look to emerging economies like China for growth. And, it... Read more

    The 15 January 2019 by   Dietdoctor
    DIET & WEIGHT, HEALTH, HEALTHY LIVING, MEDICINE
  • Jewellery for a Precious You

    Jewellery Precious

    Jewellery is always close to a woman’s heart. It completes her look and boost confidence. Considering the changing trends in jewellery fashion, it becomes... Read more

    The 15 January 2019 by   Dr.jenifer Sayyed
    LIFESTYLE
  • Rajshri Productions’ Next Is A Film On Friendship | Hum Chaar | Trailer

    Abhishek Dixit’s debut feature film Hum Chaar is a Bollywood film made under the banner of Rajshri’s film. Hum Chaar is written and directed by Abhishek Dixit. Read more

    The 15 January 2019 by   Themoviean
    ENTERTAINMENT, MOVIES
  • Saint Paul the First Hermit

    Saint Paul First Hermit

    Today is the feast day of Saint Paul the hermit. This is a sweet and delicate Oatmeal Bread topped with rolled oats and naturally sweetened with agave. Saint... Read more

    The 15 January 2019 by   Veronica46
    FOOD & DRINK, RECIPES
  • Irupathiyonnaam Noottaandu | Teaser | Pranav Mohanlal | Arun Gopy

    Arun Gopy’s Irupathiyonnaam Noottaandu is an upcoming Malayalam action-drama feature film starring Pranav Mohanlal and Zaya David in the lead roles. Read more

    The 15 January 2019 by   Themoviean
    ENTERTAINMENT, MOVIES
  • A Year Of Body Positivity

    Year Body Positivity

    Last January, as I sat there on New Years eve all set to make the same old resolutions I've made year after year for as long as I can remember, I realised how... Read more

    The 15 January 2019 by   Sparklesandstretchmarks
    DIARIES, SELF EXPRESSION
  • Garden Bloggers Bloom Day – Jan 2019

    Garden Bloggers Bloom 2019

    Euphorbia rigidaWhen I went out to take the photos for this blog post I was surprised at how much was in flower dotted around the garden. Read more

    The 15 January 2019 by   Patientgardener
    GARDENING, HOME

Magazines