Yes, you can use AI product images on Google Shopping, Shopify and Etsy, but each platform sets different conditions. Google Merchant Center requires every image made with generative AI to carry metadata saying so, and the main image must still show the exact item you sell. Shopify builds AI image editing into the admin and adds an invisible watermark to what it generates. Etsy lets you sell AI-created designs if you disclose it, but items you make yourself must be shown with original photos of the finished product. Amazon offers its own AI image tools for A+ Content and ads, and has a separate tagging rule for AI-generated people.
Everything below comes from each platform’s own help pages, checked on October 24, 2026. This guide covers platform rules only. For the state and EU disclosure laws behind some of these rules, see our earlier piece on the hidden tag AI product photos now need.
The rules side by side
Are AI images allowed? Yes, with AI metadata kept in the file Yes; Shopify offers its own AI editor Depends on the item type
Label or disclosure required Metadata showing the image is AI-generated; do not remove IPTC DigitalSourceType Invisible watermark added to Shopify-generated content Disclose in the listing description if the item is created with AI
Must show the real product? Primary image must show the exact item sold; no illustrations that do not depict the physical product No Shopify rule found; channel rules apply when you sync “Made by a seller”: original photo or video of the final product
Built-in AI tools Product Studio: scenes, background removal, higher resolution Color background, Generate, Extend in the file editor None covered here
Who owns the output Not stated on the pages checked Shopify says it does not claim ownership Not stated on the page checked
Built from Google Merchant Center Help, Shopify Help Center and Etsy’s Creativity Standards, checked October 24, 2026.Google Merchant Center: AI images need AI metadata
Google’s image_link specification has a section on AI image metadata. It says: “All images created using generative AI must contain meta data indicating that the image was AI-generated.” It adds: “Don’t remove embedded metadata tags such as the IPTC DigitalSourceType property from images created using generative AI tools.”
The page lists three IPTC values that fit AI images:
- TrainedAlgorithmicMedia: the image was created by a model trained on sampled content. This fits a picture made entirely from a text prompt.
- CompositeSynthetic: a composite that includes at least one generated element.
- AlgorithmicMedia: made purely by an algorithm, not based on training data.
IPTC’s vocabulary also has compositeWithTrainedAlgorithmicMedia, defined as “augmentation, correction or enhancement using a Generative AI model, such as with inpainting or outpainting operations.” IPTC added it in July 2023 for exactly the case most sellers hit: a real product photo with an AI-generated background.
The product rules still apply to AI images
Metadata is only half of it. Google’s general image rules do not relax for generated pictures. Your primary image “must clearly display the exact item being sold.” Google also says not to submit “line art, mockups, or illustrations that don’t depict the physical product,” outside a few categories such as hardware, vehicles and parts, and software.
That rules out the riskiest use of AI: generating the product itself. A lifestyle scene built around a real photo of your product can fit the rules. An AI rendering of a product that does not exist yet, or a color you have not photographed, does not show “the exact item being sold.”
Google also bans overlays on product images: promotional text, prices, calls to action, watermarks, borders and logos added after the shoot. Its automatic image improvements setting can try to remove “any text, watermarks, overlays, or logos detected in the image,” but Google says the setting is off by default. You turn it on under Products & store > Products > Automations.
Google’s own AI tool for Shopify stores
If you sync products through the Google & YouTube app in Shopify, you can use Google’s Product Studio from inside that app, which Google describes as “a suite of cost-free, AI-powered tools.” Google lists three image features: generate scene, remove background and increase resolution. Google describes the feature as experimental and says it “may generate unexpected images and videos.” It does not support images with hands, wall art or light fixtures, or regulated goods such as alcohol, weapons and health devices. Google also says quality reviewers may view your original images, the generated output and your prompts.
Google’s image_link page points to Product Studio as its example when it tells you not to remove the DigitalSourceType tag from images made with generative AI tools. If you edit a Product Studio image elsewhere afterwards, check the tag survived.
Shopify: AI editing built into the admin
Shopify’s media generation tools sit in the file editor. From your Shopify admin, open the media file, click the thumbnail to open the editor, then choose Color background or Generate. Shopify’s Help Center describes three functions:
- Color background: replaces the background with a solid color or makes it transparent. Shopify says transparent images should be saved as a new PNG file.
- Generate: changes the image from a short prompt, for example a new background or lighting.
- Extend: extends the background past the original borders. Shopify says this is not available in the mobile app.
On plans, the page says that “for a limited time, media generation in the file editor is available on all Shopify plans at no additional cost,” and that media generation through Sidekick is limited to the Basic, Grow, Advanced and Plus plans.
Two lines on the page matter for compliance. First: “An invisible watermark is applied to all generated images, which doesn’t restrict commercial use but can’t be removed.” Second, Shopify “doesn’t claim ownership over images merchants create using media generation, nor restrict where they can use those images.”
What Shopify’s page does not say is whether that watermark includes the IPTC DigitalSourceType field that Google names. If a Shopify-edited image ends up in your Merchant Center feed, check the file itself rather than assuming the watermark covers Google’s requirement. The walkthrough further down shows how.
Shopify’s output size, worked out
Shopify says “the default resolution for generated images is 1 megapixel (MP) resolution based on your image’s aspect ratio.” Google’s minimum is 500 by 500 pixels, and it recommends around 1500 by 1500 or more. We worked out roughly what 1 MP means at common shapes.
1:1 square 1000 x 1000 Above 67%
4:5 portrait 894 x 1118 Above 60%
3:4 portrait 866 x 1155 Above 58%
16:9 wide 1333 x 750 Above 50%
Our arithmetic from Shopify’s 1 MP default and Google’s image_link size guidance, checked October 24, 2026. Actual pixel dimensions from Shopify may differ slightly.
Every shape clears Google’s minimum. None reaches its recommended size.
So a Shopify-generated image passes Google’s minimum but sits well under its best-practice size. A 1500 by 1500 image has 2.25 MP, so it holds 2.25 times the pixels of a 1 MP square. If the image will also be your main Shopping photo, upscaling it with a tool such as Product Studio’s increase resolution feature, or keeping your original high-resolution photo as the main image, is worth the extra step.
Google also suggests the product fill between 75% and 90% of the frame. On a 1000 pixel square, that means the product should span about 750 to 900 pixels. On a 1500 pixel square, 1125 to 1350. Google lists this range as a best practice, not a requirement, and wide AI scenes often shrink the product below it.
Etsy: the item type decides what photos you can use
Etsy’s Creativity Standards, last updated June 10, 2025, sort every item into categories. The AI rules sit inside them.
- Designed by a seller: this includes “seller-prompted AI creations,” meaning work “generated using AI tools (e.g., AI image generators such as Dall-E) based on a seller’s original prompts.” Etsy’s rule: “Sellers must disclose within their listing description if an item is created with the use of AI.” AI prompt bundles do not qualify.
- Made by a seller: “Listings for items ‘made by a seller’ must use original photo or video content of the final product.” Personalised items must show a finished, customised item first, not a blank or placeholder text.
- Handpicked by a seller (vintage): photos or video “of the real, final product.”
- Sourced by a seller: photos of the items for sale “or commercial images.”
If you sell handmade goods, the wording leaves little room for an AI-generated picture of your product. An AI background around your own photo is a gray area the policy does not address directly. The cautious choice for handmade listings is to lead with your own photos and use AI scenes, if at all, as clearly secondary images. If you also sell on Etsy, our breakdown of Etsy fees per sale covers the costs side.
Amazon: AI tools inside Amazon, plus a tag for AI people
Amazon itself generates AI imagery for sellers. In a September 19, 2024 announcement, Amazon said sellers can use generative AI in A+ Content to “generate captivating background imagery and scenes that bring their products to life.” Amazon Ads also offers free AI image generation for “lifestyle and brand-themed images based on product details,” available in the US, Canada, the UK, Germany, France, Japan, Australia and other countries, with the reminder that “generative AI outputs can make mistakes.”
Separately, as we reported in August, Amazon told sellers in July 2026 to tag images and video containing photorealistic AI-generated people with a specific metadata keyword. The details are in our August article on the tag. Amazon’s Seller Central help pages block automated access, so we could not re-check that rule or Amazon’s main image requirements on October 24, 2026. Read both directly in Seller Central before you upload AI images to a listing.
Keep the AI tag on the file you upload: a checked walkthrough
The weak point in every workflow is the step between creating an image and uploading it. Metadata lives inside the file, and many resize and export steps drop it without warning.
Check the final file, not the master.
We ran the commands below with ExifTool 12.76, a free command-line metadata tool, on a sample JPEG on October 24, 2026, to confirm the syntax. In that run, resizing the file with the Python imaging library Pillow and re-saving it as WebP both removed the tag. Other editors may differ.
ExifTool keeps a backup copy of each file it changes unless you add -overwrite_original.
- Read the tag.
exiftool -DigitalSourceType image.jpgprints the value if it exists and nothing if it does not. - Add it when missing.
exiftool -XMP-iptcExt:DigitalSourceType="http://cv.iptc.org/newscodes/digitalsourcetype/trainedAlgorithmicMedia" image.jpgwrites the IPTC value for a fully generated image. Use the compositeSynthetic or compositeWithTrainedAlgorithmicMedia address instead for a real photo with AI elements. - Copy it back after a resize.
exiftool -tagsfromfile master.jpg -XMP-iptcExt:DigitalSourceType resized.jpgrestores the field from your master file. - Find untagged files in a folder.
exiftool -r -if 'not $DigitalSourceType' -p '$FileName' folder/lists every image without the field, so you can check which of those are AI images.
A decision checklist for each AI image
Real photo, background removed to white Fine if the item is shown accurately; keep any AI tag the tool adds Fine for all item types
Real photo, AI-generated scene behind it Allowed with AI metadata; product must still be the exact item Use as a secondary image for handmade items; lead with your own photo
Fully AI-generated picture of the product Does not show the exact item sold; do not use as the product image Not an original photo of the final product for handmade items
AI-generated design sold as a print or download The image must still show the physical product sold Allowed as “designed by a seller”; disclose AI in the description
AI-generated model wearing your product Allowed with AI metadata if the product shown is exact Show your real finished product first
Our reading of Google’s image_link specification and Etsy’s Creativity Standards, checked October 24, 2026. Platform reviewers make the final call.If you are building a store around print on demand or dropshipped goods, where supplier mockups are common, our guide to selling without inventory explains the models. The same “exact item” test applies to mockups as to AI images.
Common mistakes with AI product images
- Generating a variant you have not photographed. Google wants a unique, accurate image per variant. A recoloured AI version can show a shade that does not match the real item.
- Adding text to the generated scene. Prompts that produce a “SALE” banner or a price create an overlay Google does not allow.
- Letting the product shrink. Wide AI scenes push the product below Google’s suggested 75% of the frame.
Image quality also affects ads. If you are starting paid Shopping campaigns, our guide to Google Ads on a small budget covers where your product images show up, and the Shopify SEO checklist covers image alt text.
What you should check next
- List every product image made or edited with AI, and note which tool made it.
- Run the ExifTool read command on the files you actually upload to Merchant Center.
- Add or restore the DigitalSourceType value where it is missing.
- Confirm each main image shows the exact item and variant you sell.
- On Etsy, add the AI disclosure line to the description of any AI-created item, and lead handmade listings with your own photos.
- Read Amazon’s current image and AI-person rules in Seller Central before uploading AI images there.
Frequently asked questions
Does Google penalise AI product images?
Google’s image_link page does not ban AI images. It requires AI metadata and the same accuracy as any other product image. An image that breaks the image rules can be disapproved, whether or not AI made it.
Does removing a background with AI count as AI-generated?
Google’s page does not draw that line. IPTC has a separate value, algorithmicallyEnhanced, for changes that do not alter the main content. If your tool adds a DigitalSourceType tag, keep it.
Can I use Shopify’s AI images on other platforms?
Shopify’s Help Center says generated images “can be used for merchants’ business purposes, both within and outside of Shopify.” Each channel’s own rules still apply, including Google’s metadata rule and Etsy’s photo rules.
The takeaway
AI images are allowed on the main selling channels, with two conditions that keep coming back: the picture must show the real product, and the file must say it was generated. Use AI for backgrounds and scenes around your own photos, keep the DigitalSourceType tag on the file you upload, and lead handmade Etsy listings with your own photography.
Sources
- Google Merchant Center Help, “Image link [image_link]” (AI image metadata, size, framing and overlay rules). support.google.com
- Google Merchant Center Help, “About Product Studio for Shopify”. support.google.com
- Google Merchant Center Help, “Allow Merchant Center to improve your product images”. support.google.com
- Shopify Help Center, “Media generation powered by Shopify Magic”. help.shopify.com
- Etsy, “Etsy’s Creativity Standards”, last updated June 10, 2025. etsy.com
- IPTC, “Digital Source Type” controlled vocabulary. cv.iptc.org
- IPTC, “New Digital Source Type term added to support inpainting and outpainting in Generative AI”, July 27, 2023. iptc.org
- About Amazon, generative AI tools for sellers announcement, September 19, 2024. aboutamazon.com
- Amazon Ads, “How to use AI image generators”. advertising.amazon.com
Last reviewed: October 24, 2026. Google, Shopify, Etsy, IPTC and Amazon pages were checked on that date; Amazon Seller Central pages could not be fetched.
How this article was made: researched and drafted with AI assistance, with every factual claim checked against the sources above. The 1 MP size table and framing figures are our own arithmetic, the decision checklist is our reading of the platform rules, and the ExifTool commands were run on a sample file to confirm syntax, not on any store’s images.
Related guides
- Your AI product photos now need a hidden tag
- Google Ads for small online stores on a small budget
- Etsy fees in 2026: what you actually pay per sale
- E-commerce SEO checklist for Shopify stores
