Books Magazine

A Study in Charlotte by Brittany Cavallari

By Girllostinabook
A Study in Charlotte by Brittany Cavallari Description (from cover):
'The first book in a witty, suspenseful new trilogy about a brilliant crime-solving duo: the teen descendants of Sherlock Holmes and John Watson. This clever page-turner will appeal to fans of Maureen Johnson and Ally Carter.
Jamie Watson has always been intrigued by Charlotte Holmes; after all, their great-great-great-grandfathers are one of the most infamous pairs in history. But the Holmes family has always been odd, and Charlotte is no exception. She's inherited Sherlock's volatility and some of his vices--and when Jamie and Charlotte end up at the same Connecticut boarding school, Charlotte makes it clear she's not looking for friends.
But when a student they both have a history with dies under suspicious circumstances, ripped straight from the most terrifying of the Sherlock Holmes stories, Jamie can no longer afford to keep his distance. Danger is mounting and nowhere is safe--and the only people they can trust are each other.'
My thoughts:
Well it certainly has been a long time since I have read anything or even thought about writing on this blog. Real life it seems has gotten in the way. After going months without even thinking about reading, I suddenly had the urge to read something again and what better book to get back into reading with then one about my some of my favorite characters, Sherlock Holmes and John Watson. While this book doesn't directly involve Holmes and Watson, it does involve their descendants, Charlotte Holmes and Jamie Watson. The pair are teenagers attending a boarding school in Connecticut and they live under the shadow of their famous family relatives. The pressure is on for the teenagers to live up to their famous relatives.
Charlotte is in her own right a great detective and she has her own quirks just like the famous detective. Jamie is happy to go along with Charlotte in her investigations and journals their adventures all along the way. I really enjoyed reading this book, even though the audience is intended for young adults. I like how the author used the Sherlock Holmes stories that we are all familiar with and incorporated them into her novel. I think the author had a unique balance of those stories and used her own creativity to make these characters shine in their own right. 
This story is a little too romanticized for my taste, but I guess that might have something to do with it being geared to a younger audience. Nevertheless, this was a great read and it introduced me to a new author. As this was the first book in what appears to be a trilogy, I will be reading the second book. This book was interesting enough to make me want to explore the characters and see what happens next for them. 
Overall Rating: 4
Title:  A Study in Charlotte
Author:  Brittany Cavallari
Series:  Charlotte Holmes #1
Publisher:  Katherine Tegan Books
Publication Date:  March 1, 2016
Pages:  336
Genre:  Young Adult
Get It:  Amazon; Barnes & Noble
Disclaimer: This book was purchased by myself and I reviewed this book without compensation of any kind. All thoughts and opinions are solely mine.

You Might Also Like :

Back to Featured Articles on Logo Paperblog

These articles might interest you :

  • Big Food Giants Manipulate Public Health Policy in China

    Food Giants Manipulate Public Health Policy China

    Coca-Cola is at it again. As soda sales decline in the United States and Europe, beverage companies look to emerging economies like China for growth. And, it... Read more

    The 15 January 2019 by   Dietdoctor
    DIET & WEIGHT, HEALTH, HEALTHY LIVING, MEDICINE
  • Jewellery for a Precious You

    Jewellery Precious

    Jewellery is always close to a woman’s heart. It completes her look and boost confidence. Considering the changing trends in jewellery fashion, it becomes... Read more

    The 15 January 2019 by   Dr.jenifer Sayyed
    LIFESTYLE
  • Rajshri Productions’ Next Is A Film On Friendship | Hum Chaar | Trailer

    Abhishek Dixit’s debut feature film Hum Chaar is a Bollywood film made under the banner of Rajshri’s film. Hum Chaar is written and directed by Abhishek Dixit. Read more

    The 15 January 2019 by   Themoviean
    ENTERTAINMENT, MOVIES
  • Saint Paul the First Hermit

    Saint Paul First Hermit

    Today is the feast day of Saint Paul the hermit. This is a sweet and delicate Oatmeal Bread topped with rolled oats and naturally sweetened with agave. Saint... Read more

    The 15 January 2019 by   Veronica46
    FOOD & DRINK, RECIPES
  • Irupathiyonnaam Noottaandu | Teaser | Pranav Mohanlal | Arun Gopy

    Arun Gopy’s Irupathiyonnaam Noottaandu is an upcoming Malayalam action-drama feature film starring Pranav Mohanlal and Zaya David in the lead roles. Read more

    The 15 January 2019 by   Themoviean
    ENTERTAINMENT, MOVIES
  • A Year Of Body Positivity

    Year Body Positivity

    Last January, as I sat there on New Years eve all set to make the same old resolutions I've made year after year for as long as I can remember, I realised how... Read more

    The 15 January 2019 by   Sparklesandstretchmarks
    DIARIES, SELF EXPRESSION
  • Garden Bloggers Bloom Day – Jan 2019

    Garden Bloggers Bloom 2019

    Euphorbia rigidaWhen I went out to take the photos for this blog post I was surprised at how much was in flower dotted around the garden. Read more

    The 15 January 2019 by   Patientgardener
    GARDENING, HOME

Magazines