Lifestyle Magazine

A Review of “The Orphan’s Tale”

By Lisaorchard @lisaorchard1

Hello everyone. I hope all is well with you. I’ve been working on my latest WIP and I’m excited about this new one, too. I’ve sent my first one off to my Beta reader and she gave me some quick feedback. She told me the opening was AWESOME! So, you can guess I’m beyond excited. I’ll keep you posted as she continues reading the rest. 🙂

I’m back today to share with you my thoughts on “The Orphan’s Tale.” The cover and blurb are below:

The Orphan's Tale: A Novel by [Jenoff, Pam]

“Readers who enjoyed Kristin Hannah’s The Nightingale and Sara Gruen’s Water for Elephants will embrace this novel. ” —Library Journal

“Secrets, lies, treachery, and passion…. I read this novel in a headlong rush.” —Christina Baker Kline, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Orphan Train

A powerful novel of friendship set in a traveling circus during World War II, The Orphan’s Tale introduces two extraordinary women and their harrowing stories of sacrifice and survival 

Sixteen-year-old Noa has been cast out in disgrace after becoming pregnant by a Nazi soldier and being forced to give up her baby. She lives above a small rail station, which she cleans in order to earn her keep… When Noa discovers a boxcar containing dozens of Jewish infants bound for a concentration camp, she is reminded of the child that was taken from her. And in a moment that will change the course of her life, she snatches one of the babies and flees into the snowy night. 

Noa finds refuge with a German circus, but she must learn the flying trapeze act so she can blend in undetected, spurning the resentment of the lead aerialist, Astrid. At first rivals, Noa and Astrid soon forge a powerful bond. But as the facade that protects them proves increasingly tenuous, Noa and Astrid must decide whether their friendship is enough to save one another—or if the secrets that burn between them will destroy everything.

As you know, I love reading WWII stories. Especially ones where the main character, usually a Jew, overcomes the adversity of Nazi Germany and that is exactly what this story is about.

I absolutely loved it.

It’s the story of Noa and Astrid. How they meet and their relationship. I loved Noa who is young, strong, and naïve. She’s kicked out of her home when she becomes pregnant by a German soldier. She goes to a home for unwed mothers and because her baby has German blood, he is taken away from her. Mourning her loss, she finds work at the train station and happens upon a car full of babies. I won’t tell you what happens next, but it’s an incredible story.

Then there’s Astrid a Jew married to a German who’s also a member of the Nazi party. He comes home one day and tells her the marriage is over. The Reich is demanding that all members married to Jews get a divorce. She has to pack up and leave that very day. She travels back to her home town searching for her family, but they’re all gone. She used to be a circus performer so she travels to a competitor’s home inquiring about her family. She learns the awful truth and the owner asks her to join his circus.

The circus is how Noa and Astrid meet and the rest of the story takes off from there. They both have their secrets and the girls band together and protect each other. It’s an amazing story of friendship and survival. If you’re a WWII buff like me, you’ll want to read this story. I can see it becoming a movie very soon.

Like I said, I loved this story and I’m going to be looking for more books from this author. How about you, do you have any books you’d like to recommend? Leave a comment, I’d love to hear from you! 🙂


You Might Also Like :

Back to Featured Articles on Logo Paperblog

These articles might interest you :

  • Polyamory and the Friendship Litmus Test

    Lately I’ve been trying to work out my feelings about nonmonogamy and metamours–specifically, how to articulate to partners what I’d like my relationships with... Read more

    The 24 April 2018 by   Brute Reason
    SOCIETY, WOMEN'S ISSUES
  • Yorkshire Revisited

    Yorkshire Revisited

    Almost five years ago we wrote about friends garden in Yorkshire. Well last weekend we went "up North" for a visit and although the garden is only just waking u... Read more

    The 24 April 2018 by   Alternativeeden
    DESTINATIONS, GARDENING
  • Daya: A Yoga Practice of Compassion

    Daya: Yoga Practice Compassion

    by Victor DubinBlossoming Almond Branch in a Glass by Vincent van GoghI am not as compassionate as I would like to be. I am inclined to be ego driven and to... Read more

    The 24 April 2018 by   Ninazolotow
    FITNESS, HEALTH, HEALTHY LIVING
  • CQD.com Matter Resolved

    CQD.com Matter Resolved

    James Booth posted on Namepros that he has pushed the domain name back to the original owner Rebecca. This thread became legendary and brought together a lot... Read more

    The 24 April 2018 by   Worldwide
    BUSINESS, TECH
  • The Interactive Cafe – Zee5 Loft

    Interactive Cafe Zee5 Loft

    Zee5 Loft is an interactive café which recently opened in HSR, Bangalore. The whole idea is built on Hospi-tainment or Hospitality with Entertainment. This is... Read more

    The 24 April 2018 by   Rohit Dassani
    DINING OUT, FOOD & DRINK
  • Creation Stories: LANNDS

    Photo Credit: Carl Rosen LANNDS is the indie-electronic project of Florida-based songwriter Rania Woodard. We came across LANNDS’ latest single, “Legends,” and... Read more

    The 24 April 2018 by   Music Creates Us
    ENTERTAINMENT, MUSIC
  • Huawei P20 Pro , P20 Lite With FullView Display Launched in India

    Huawei has made a comeback in India by launching Huawei P20 Lite, P20 Pro today. These phones come with AI-powered cameras in collaboration with the optics in... Read more

    The 24 April 2018 by   Gadgetscanner
    GADGETS, TECH

Magazine