Lifestyle Magazine

A Review of “The Orphan’s Tale”

By Lisaorchard @lisaorchard1

Hello everyone. I hope all is well with you. I’ve been working on my latest WIP and I’m excited about this new one, too. I’ve sent my first one off to my Beta reader and she gave me some quick feedback. She told me the opening was AWESOME! So, you can guess I’m beyond excited. I’ll keep you posted as she continues reading the rest. 🙂

I’m back today to share with you my thoughts on “The Orphan’s Tale.” The cover and blurb are below:

The Orphan's Tale: A Novel by [Jenoff, Pam]

“Readers who enjoyed Kristin Hannah’s The Nightingale and Sara Gruen’s Water for Elephants will embrace this novel. ” —Library Journal

“Secrets, lies, treachery, and passion…. I read this novel in a headlong rush.” —Christina Baker Kline, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Orphan Train

A powerful novel of friendship set in a traveling circus during World War II, The Orphan’s Tale introduces two extraordinary women and their harrowing stories of sacrifice and survival 

Sixteen-year-old Noa has been cast out in disgrace after becoming pregnant by a Nazi soldier and being forced to give up her baby. She lives above a small rail station, which she cleans in order to earn her keep… When Noa discovers a boxcar containing dozens of Jewish infants bound for a concentration camp, she is reminded of the child that was taken from her. And in a moment that will change the course of her life, she snatches one of the babies and flees into the snowy night. 

Noa finds refuge with a German circus, but she must learn the flying trapeze act so she can blend in undetected, spurning the resentment of the lead aerialist, Astrid. At first rivals, Noa and Astrid soon forge a powerful bond. But as the facade that protects them proves increasingly tenuous, Noa and Astrid must decide whether their friendship is enough to save one another—or if the secrets that burn between them will destroy everything.

As you know, I love reading WWII stories. Especially ones where the main character, usually a Jew, overcomes the adversity of Nazi Germany and that is exactly what this story is about.

I absolutely loved it.

It’s the story of Noa and Astrid. How they meet and their relationship. I loved Noa who is young, strong, and naïve. She’s kicked out of her home when she becomes pregnant by a German soldier. She goes to a home for unwed mothers and because her baby has German blood, he is taken away from her. Mourning her loss, she finds work at the train station and happens upon a car full of babies. I won’t tell you what happens next, but it’s an incredible story.

Then there’s Astrid a Jew married to a German who’s also a member of the Nazi party. He comes home one day and tells her the marriage is over. The Reich is demanding that all members married to Jews get a divorce. She has to pack up and leave that very day. She travels back to her home town searching for her family, but they’re all gone. She used to be a circus performer so she travels to a competitor’s home inquiring about her family. She learns the awful truth and the owner asks her to join his circus.

The circus is how Noa and Astrid meet and the rest of the story takes off from there. They both have their secrets and the girls band together and protect each other. It’s an amazing story of friendship and survival. If you’re a WWII buff like me, you’ll want to read this story. I can see it becoming a movie very soon.

Like I said, I loved this story and I’m going to be looking for more books from this author. How about you, do you have any books you’d like to recommend? Leave a comment, I’d love to hear from you! 🙂


You Might Also Like :

Back to Featured Articles on Logo Paperblog

These articles might interest you :

  • When You’re Fueled by Fat, Traveling is a Relative Breeze

    When You’re Fueled Fat, Traveling Relative Breeze

    Setting off on a journey, for most carb-eating people, usually means planning snacks for the trip, being sure to have something to munch on hand. When fueled... Read more

    The 21 August 2018 by   Dietdoctor
    DIET & WEIGHT, HEALTH, HEALTHY LIVING, MEDICINE
  • It’s Time to ShiftShiftShift. Right Now.

    It’s Time ShiftShiftShift. Right Now.

    "I do not feel obliged to believe that the same God who has endowed us with sense, reason, and intellect has intended us to forgo their use." ― Galileo... Read more

    The 21 August 2018 by   Berijoy
    CREATIVITY, SELF EXPRESSION
  • Unito Review: An Excellent Synchronization Platform for Your Project Management

    Unito Review: Excellent Synchronization Platform Your Project Management

    Project management tools play a vital role in the company’s growth and success. There is a number of employees in any organization, everybody works differently... Read more

    The 21 August 2018 by   Seogdk
    MARKETING & ADVERTISING, SOCIAL MEDIA
  • Stronger

    Stronger

    Brand trips are one of the coolest parts of blogging... but can also prove to be one of the most stressful. You know you will be photographed the entire time... Read more

    The 21 August 2018 by   Wardrobeoxygen
    FASHION, SELF EXPRESSION, SHOPPING
  • Purposeful Abandonment for Tomorrow’s Event Success

    Determine When to Let Go, and When to Tackle New Challenges You seldom hear a management guru advocating that you give up, but that's essentially what Peter... Read more

    The 21 August 2018 by   Marketingtango
    BUSINESS, MARKETING & ADVERTISING
  • Northern Thailand: The Best of Lanna

    Northern Thailand: Best Lanna

    To date, through 4 separate road trips in Northern Thailand, we have now covered all 9 provinces, and have put together a simple road... Read more

    The 21 August 2018 by   Allanmwilson
    DESTINATIONS, EXPAT, TRAVEL
  • Telling Your Kids They Are Smart: It's The Kiss Of Death!

    What the hell is this woman talking about? What do you mean, don't tell my kid that he/she isn't smart? If I don't say that, they will think I think that... Read more

    The 21 August 2018 by   Joanigeltman
    FAMILY, PARENTING

Magazine