How to Factory Reset a PS4

Posted on the 20 August 2020 by Thiruvenkatam Chinnagounder @tipsclear

Not all technology is perfect, and that includes our gaming systems. Sometimes our PlayStation 4 systems experience issues that simply restarting the console cannot fix. The worst part is when you try to play a game and it freezes before you get a chance to save a point. Recently these problems seem to be worsening due to the age of the system. These frustrating experiences happen to everyone and there is a relatively simple way to fix them: a full factory reset.

Resetting the PlayStation 4 is pretty easy. Usually this is a last resort to ensure system functionality. Make sure to back up all of your saved data before starting the reset. When you perform a factory reset on the PlayStation, all of your data will be erased from the system. If you do this process without backing up your saved data, you will start over. Fortunately, PS Plus subscribers can upload storage to the cloud, so backing up saved data shouldn't be a problem if you're a member.

Below are step-by-step guides on how to factory reset your PS4, whether you're rocking an Original Model, Slim, or Pro.

Recommended literature:

Here's how to factory reset your PS4

Before we begin, you should know that a factory reset will completely erase the console's hard drive and can even remove the system software. This is a last resort if a software glitch is holding up your PlayStation 4, especially when booting or if you want to make sure that your data is no longer stored on the console.

You should back up any data you want to save, such as pictures, storage, and videos, to an external device or to the cloud. To back up data using the cloud, you need a PlayStation Plus account, which gives you 100 GB of storage.

There are two ways to reset your PS4: from the console dashboard, or from Safe Mode if the console is having startup problems. We'll be going through both ways, with the first going through your PlayStation 4 dashboard.

1. Sign in to your PS4 and go to the settings menu

Start at the settings menu and look for the option for Account management. You should disable the computer as your primary PlayStation 4. This setting allows you to play downloaded games offline by identifying that particular PS4 as yours. If you miss this step, you will run into a number of other problems when you log into your new console and try to play your games.

2. Deactivate your PlayStation

Go to Activate as your primary PS4. Your PS4 will likely already be activated. If that's the case, that activate Option is grayed out and Deactivate will be the only choice you can choose. Choose Deactivate and select Yes on the following screen.

3. Log in again with your user account

Sign back into your account and go back to the settings for the final steps.

4. Find the Initialization option in Settings

Scroll all the way down from the inside the settings Menu. Click on initialization and you will be offered a few more options. For the purposes of this guide, all you need to worry about is the bottom two options - we'll skip the Clear Learning Dictionary. Below you can see Restore default settings, This will erase your saved settings data and reset the PS4 to its factory settings, but it will not erase your hard drive.

The other option Initialize PS4 is the big one that frees your hard drive of data, including downloaded games, saved game data, and anything else you've added to the console since purchase. This will restore your PS4 to the way it was when it came out of the box.

5. On the Initialize screen, select Full

The big scarf is what you are looking for. Note that it will take a long time - probably a few hours or more.

Once you've initialized the deletion, the PS4 will display a progress bar showing how long it will take. However, expect it to take even longer as the console goes through multiple steps. When it's done, you can set up your PS4 just like you did when you first turned it on. If you want to sell it, hand it over completely fresh and without data.

Perform a factory reset from Safe Mode

If you're having system software issues or other errors preventing you from going to the Settings menu and reinitializing your PS4, you can access the same options from the console's Safe Mode.

1. Turn off your PS4 completely

Don't put it on Hibernation. You want your console to be completely turned off so you can start up in Safe Mode.

2. Press and hold the power button until you hear two beeps

You have to physically press the power button on the console instead of starting it with a controller. Hold it down for about eight seconds. You will hear one beep the first time you touch the button and then again before you start up Security mode. It is labeled and you can recognize it by its black background.

3. Select the reset option you want

Like in the the settings Safe mode menu you can choose restore default settings to reset everything in the PS4 to its original software settings, but keep your data. You can also choose Initialize PS4.

This will erase your hard drive and restore the factory settings. However, keep the system software - in other words, the operating system. The last option is Initialize PS4 (reinstall system software), This is an even more complete factory reset that will require you to reinstall the PS4's operating system.

4. If you are not having any software issues, select Initialize PS4

This will reset your hard drive and software settings to the factory defaults, but the operating system software will remain intact. It's the same as the option above (available in the the settings Menu) and you can choose between Fast and Full Initializations. If that's all you need, you're done.

How to reinstall the system software on PS4

This is an even bigger erase than the previous full initialization, which removes all software from the console. In this case, you will need to reinstall the system software from another device. If you are having software problems with the operating system you will need to choose Initialize PS4 (reinstall system software), but there is one more step in the process that must be done first.

1. Download the official PS4 firmware

Go to your PC and download the latest system software from the PlayStation website. You will also need an external hard drive with a USB port or a USB flash drive to transfer the update to your PS4. Obtain an external hard drive or USB flash drive with approximately 1.1 GB of free space.

2. Create a new folder on your USB device and name it PS4

Create a folder in this folder and name it "UPDATE" in capital letters. Save the firmware file in the "UPDATE" folder and you're good to go. Make sure that the file is named "PS4UPDATE.PUP" when you save it.

3. Start your PS4 in Safe Mode

To do this, follow the steps outlined above by completely turning off your PS4 and then pressing and holding the power button until you hear two beeps and enter Safe Mode.

4. Select Initialize PS4 (Reinstall System Software) on your PS4

Just follow the instructions. The console will erase all data, including the system software, and then prompt you to connect the USB device on which you saved the update to reinstall the system software. When that's done, your PS4 will be reset to factory settings.

Editor's recommendations