Science Magazine

Finally a Physics Nobel Prize for Higgs Boson Theorists

Posted on the 10 October 2013 by Gaurav Tiwari @wpgaurav


The 2013 Nobel Prize for physics has been awarded to Peter Higgs and Francois Englert for their remarkable contributions to the theory of Higgs boson “God Particles”. It came after 50 years Peter Higgs, Robert Brout, Gerald Guralnik, C R Hagen, T. W. B. Kibble and Francois Englert independently announced the existence of Higgs boson in 1964 to put the theory to the world how the mass comes into existence in objects.

On 8th October 2013, the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences announced the results for the year’s most anticipated award in Physics. It was sure for at least these two physicists to get the prize after the elementary particle Higgs boson was confirmed to exist on 14th March 2013 with the help of Large Hadron Collider at CERN. It is, however very irritating to think why the other physicists like R. Brout, G. S. Guralnik, C. R. Hagen, and T. W. B. Kibble, who also made important contributions to the same, were not considered for the prize.

Image via CERN

Back to Featured Articles on Logo Paperblog