Travel Magazine

Enchanting New Wonders of the World

By Enchantingtravels

For centuries, dozens of lists have highlighted the most marvelous natural sights and historical sites around the globe, known as Wonders of the World. But what is their significance today and who decides what makes these lists?

Greek historian Herodotus (nicknamed the Father of History) and the scholar Callimachus of Cyrene first compiled their lists of Seven Ancient Wonders of the World back in fifth century BC. After this original list, a more medieval version was created around the 19th century that included sites such as Stonehenge, the Colosseum and the Great Wall of China.

The number seven was chosen because the Greeks believed it to be the representation of perfection and plenty.

Since 2006 the New7Wonders Foundation has been announcing modern-day lists where the original 7 wonders of the world compete with wonders of more recent times and are democratically chosen.

Presenting Enchanting Travels own 7 wonders of the world list:

Machu Picchu, Peru

Enchanting New Wonders of the World

Taj Mahal, India

Enchanting New Wonders of the World

Angkor, Cambodia

Enchanting Travels mythical worlds Cambodia Angkor Wat

Statues of Easter Island, Chile

Unearth Mythical Worlds with these Travel Legends

Iguazu Falls, Argentina

South America Argentina Brazil Iguazu Falls shutterstock_145210222

Halong Bay, Vietnam

Halong Bay, Vietnam. Unesco World Heritage Site. Most popular place in Vietnam, shutterstock_123228598

Table Mountain, South Africa


Would you agree? We want to hear from you!

Are you ready to explore these seven Wonders of the World? Visit them with a private, tailor-made Enchanting Travels tour today!

Plan my trip

Back to Featured Articles on Logo Paperblog