Entertainment Magazine

Black Star Riders, 14th March 2017, Rock City, Nottingham – Review by Martin Tillyer

Posted on the 19 March 2017 by Music Vstheworld @musicvstheworld

Black Star Riders supported by Backyard Babies and Gun, Rock City, Nottingham,14th March 2017

Having been away for the weekend watching a selection of tribute bands at Legends of Rock ‘Yarmageddon’, I came home on Monday evening to a message offering me the chance to go see the Black Star Riders at one of my favorite venues. I knew I wouldn’t turn it down.

I had not seen either of the support bands before so it was going to be interesting to see what the build up to the headliners was going to be like.

Gun came on with the crowd already building up, they brought their own blend of traditional British rock (Scottish to be more precise).

Black Star Riders, 14th March 2017, Rock City, Nottingham – review by Martin Tillyer

DSC_0040
DSC_0156
DSC_0124
DSC_0048

Their set had a good balance from their back catalog including the cover of Cameo’s “Word Up” and a cracking new track “She Knows” from Gun’s forthcoming album.

Set:

Let It Shine

Word Up!

Don’t Say It’s Over

Better Days

She Knows

Steal Your Fire

Shame On You.

Band – Dante Gizzi, Vocals – Jools Gizzi, Guitar – Tommy Gentry, Guitar – Andy Carr, Bass – Paul McManus, Drums

Following these were Swedish rockers Backyard Babies, This was a band I hadn’t previously heard of. From the start they were into a set that had far more pace with a harder edged rock with a heavily Punk influenced sound, bringing to mind bands such as Hanoi Rocks.

Black Star Riders, 14th March 2017, Rock City, Nottingham – review by Martin Tillyer

DSC_0318
DSC_0255
DSC_0324

Set:

Th1rte3n or Nothing

Dysfunctional Professional

The Clash

Brand New Hate

Bloody Tears

Nomadic

Minus Celsius

Look At You

Band – Nicke Borg, Vocal – Dregen, Guitar – Johan Blomqvist, Bass – Peder Carlsson, Drums

Each of the support acts played for about 40 minutes, leaving about 30 mins until the Black Star Riders which soon went by. This was to be the third time I had seen them – the first was at Download. At that time I had not heard of them, but did initially think they sounded like a good Thin Lizzy covers band (we were not near enough to really see the stage and the weather was shocking)! I was so impressed with their original music, and when I returned home to investigate them and found that they had Scott Gorham on guitar it became a lot more obvious why! I bought the first album at that point. At that time the set was actually split 60 – 40 % of new tracks to the old Lizzy tracks.

Black Star Riders, 14th March 2017, Rock City, Nottingham – review by Martin Tillyer

Tonight, they started off the set with the title track of the new album “Heavy Fire” before leading into “Bloodshot” and “The Killer Instinct”. It was then back to the new album for “Dancing with The Wrong Girl”.

DSC_0645
DSC_0673

It is becoming obvious that they are a really tight unit giving their own blend of rock still with Irish influences which you would expect with Ricky as a front man.

Black Star Riders, 14th March 2017, Rock City, Nottingham – review by Martin Tillyer

“Soldierstown” and “Hey Judas” lead to two more of the new tracks, “When the Night Comes In” and “Cold War Love” which is a slower number, one of my favourites from the new album.

Black Star Riders, 14th March 2017, Rock City, Nottingham – review by Martin Tillyer

“All Hell Breaks Loose” speeds it up again next, followed by a track that I, perhaps controversially, feel didn’t need to be in the set, “The Boys are Back in Town”. Time has moved on and now into their third album they are definitely a band in their own right and in my opinion they don’t need to keep the Lizzy Link going.

Back then to “Hoodoo Voodoo”, “Who Rides the Tiger”, another faster punchier number, followed by “Blindsided”.

Black Star Riders, 14th March 2017, Rock City, Nottingham – review by Martin Tillyer

“Thinking About You Could Get Me Killed” and “Testify or Say Goodbye” from “Heavy Fire” lead into penultimate tracks “Kingdom of the Lost” and “Bound for Glory”.

With the finale of “Finest Hour”, BSR had been on stage for well over an hour and I wish it could have lasted much longer – an amazing performance as I had expected.

Black Star Riders, 14th March 2017, Rock City, Nottingham – review by Martin Tillyer

I did hear people saying at the end they wished they had played more Thin Lizzy… but to me, they are the BLACK STAR RIDERS and nothing else is required.

Thank you, until the next time…

Review and photos by Martin Tillyer

Editor: Fi Stimpson

Advertisements

You Might Also Like :

Back to Featured Articles on Logo Paperblog

These articles might interest you :

  • Inside New Opening Church on the Hill, Glasgow

    Doors Open at Church on the Hill Iconic Southside Glasgow bar, Church on the Hill, has opened its doors again, following a £650,000 refurbishment. Read more

    The 20 April 2018 by   Emma
    DESTINATIONS, DINING OUT, FOOD & DRINK
  • Summer Dresses Ideas

    Summer Dresses Ideas

    Coucou everyone,Summer is almost here, are you excited?Long days on the beach (in the park), light evenings with glass of rose on the terrace, delicious ice... Read more

    The 20 April 2018 by   Dusana Bozenkova
    LIFESTYLE
  • BNV007: Who Is Brand New Vegan?

    BNV007: Brand Vegan?

    In this episode of the Brand New Vegan Podcast, I’m going to pull a Stan Lee and give you my Origins Story.    Please tell me you know who Stan Lee is so I don’... Read more

    The 20 April 2018 by   Chuck Underwood
    FOOD & DRINK, HEALTH, HEALTHY LIVING, LIFESTYLE, VEGETARIAN & VEGAN
  • Donated Photos for the Diversity in Yoga (DIY) Photo Database!

    Donated Photos Diversity Yoga (DIY) Photo Database!

    by NinaLisa Leigh, Age 56I’m so excited about my new project, the Diversity in Yoga (DIY) Photo Database! Every time someone sends me a photo, I smile. Read more

    The 20 April 2018 by   Ninazolotow
    FITNESS, HEALTH, HEALTHY LIVING
  • Video: A Road Trip To All 59 National Parks

    Video: Road Trip National Parks

    Next week is National Parks Week here in the U.S., and to celebrate I thought this video was appropriate. It follows travelers Matthew and Renee Hahnel as they... Read more

    The 20 April 2018 by   Kungfujedi
    OUTDOORS
  • Bumpdate: 25 Weeks

    Bumpdate: Weeks

    Happy Friday babes! The sun is shining and there is NO snow in the forecast for the foreseeable future. HAPPINESS! We have a super fun and jam packed weekend... Read more

    The 20 April 2018 by   Thesamanthashow
    LIFESTYLE, SELF EXPRESSION
  • Starplex Renamed To Dos Equis Pavilion

    Starplex Renamed Equis Pavilion

    In a press release that just hit my in-box, HEINEKEN USA has announced the signing of a marketing alliance with Live Nation giving their key Mexican import Dos... Read more

    The 20 April 2018 by   Ohsocynthia
    DESTINATIONS, LIFESTYLE

Magazines