Outdoors Magazine

19th Südtirol Dolomiti Superbike on July 6, 2013: World Elite at the Start

Posted on the 03 July 2013 by Worldxcmtb @worldxcmtb
19th Südtirol Dolomiti Superbike on July 6, 2013: World Elite at the start

Niederdorf (South Tyrol/Italy) July 02, 2013 – The World of Mountain biking excitedly looks towards Niederdorf where on Saturday the 6th of July, the 19th Südtirol Dolomiti Superbike is discharged. It belongs to the UCI Marathon World Series and is the first race of the World Cup. Multiple world champions and marathon winners are at the start. Therefore declaring an exciting contest between the world's best athletes.

Alban Lakata the reigning Vice World Cup champion and last year's winner is at the start. The East Tyrolean had to concede defeat at the weekend at the World Championship to the Swiss contender Christof Sauser who won his third gold medal by 4 seconds. In an exciting final, Sauser defeated the Belgian Roel Paulissen at the World Championship in Niederdorf in 2008, will also be present. The Dolomiti Superbike winner of 2006 Columbian Hector Leonardo Paez was third in the World Championship, while former European champion Kristian Hynek ranked in fourth behind Paez. Fifth went to Urs Huber of Switzerland the triple winner of the spectacular Dolomites marathon in 2008, 2010 and 2011 and a Bronze Medallist at the World Championship in 2008. Ilias Periklis, the marathon world champion in 2012 was third last year in Niederdorf whereas the German Steffen Thum who won last year's World Series.

Even the former World Champion Massimo Debertolis has big plans. He has already collected two DSB gold medals in 2009 and 2007, and the Alsatian Thomas Dietsch won in 2003. Marzio Deho the 2005 winner is also registered. He leads the Italian phalanx together with Italian champion Yuri Ragnoli, Tony Longo, Johnny Cattaneo, Daniele Mensi, Samuele Porro, Enrico Franzoi and Hannes Pallhuber. In attendance from Germany are the three-time Cape Epic and Transalp winners Stefan Sahm and Karl Platt. The field of favourites are joined by Lukas Buchli (CH), Søren Nissen (DEN), Jukka Vastaranta (FIN) and the Australian Mike Blewitt.

Amongst the women, is the English woman Sally Bigham in a class of her own. At the World Championships she won silver behind Gunn-Rita Dahle, but won in Niederdorf in 2012. Katrin Schwing of Germany took victory in the Dolomites in 2009 and secured 2nd in 2011. Marathon champion Daniela Veronesi of Italy was third in 2011 as was Serena Calvetti (2012) in the short distance. To be found alongside the top riders are Anna Ferrari (I), Elena Gaddoni (I), Kerstin Brachtendorf (D), Silke Keinath (D), Verena Krenslehner (AUT), and Lorenza Menapace from Trento.

The elite men face 113.8 km/3.357 m and the elite women 80 km/2.307 m. The race starts at 7.15 for the elite women, followed by the elite men. All the other participants set off in different starting blocks until 08.20 a.m.

Prize money - The total prize money amounts to € 20,000. It is divided between the top fifteen men on and ten fastest women on the long distance, and the five fastest men and women over the short distance. The victor of the 113 km receives € 2,500. The winners in the various categories as well as the overall winner of the sprint and mountain contest will be awarded. The first three placed in all other categories will receive prizes.

Further information is available on www.dolomitisuperbike.com

Source: press release

Back to Featured Articles on Logo Paperblog