Books Magazine

Review: Centuries of June (Book Tour)

Posted on the 23 June 2011 by Bookaholic @BookReflections
Review: Centuries of June (Book Tour)
Centuries of June by Keith Donohue
Genre: Fantasy
Pages:  352 (Hardback)
Source: TLC Booktours
Author | Facebook | Twitter
From Goodreads:
For fans of Nicholson Baker and David Mitchell, a multilayered, lively, and wholly original novel from bestselling author Keith Donohue.
Set in the bathroom of an old house just before dawn on a night in June, Centuries of June is a black comedy about a man who is attempting to tell the story of how he ended up on the floor with a hole in his head. But he keeps getting interrupted by a series of suspects--eight women lying in the bedroom just down
the hall. Drawing from 500 years of myths and legends in America, Centuries of June is a stunning tour de force by a writer whose last novel, Angels of Destruction, was hailed as "Beautiful and wrenching" (Washington Post Book World).

My Review:
In this book we hear the stories of eight women, all of which vary across geography and time.  Some read like myths or fables and others are simple short stories.  Throughout the book the reader wonders how these stories connect to the main character, Jack, who doesn't know these women but who appear to know him.  The story takes place in Jack's bathroom as he tries to discover the cause of his mysterious fall.  This was a very unique storyline and I can only describe the writing technique as artistic.  I enjoyed the individual stories about the women and found them to stand out on there own. 
Click here for other opinions: Keith Donohue’s TLC Book Tours TOUR STOPS
Review: Centuries of June (Book Tour)

You Might Also Like :

Back to Featured Articles on Logo Paperblog

These articles might interest you :

Magazine