Entertainment Magazine

Black Star Riders, 14th March 2017, Rock City, Nottingham – Review by Martin Tillyer

Posted on the 19 March 2017 by Music Vstheworld @musicvstheworld

Black Star Riders supported by Backyard Babies and Gun, Rock City, Nottingham,14th March 2017

Having been away for the weekend watching a selection of tribute bands at Legends of Rock ‘Yarmageddon’, I came home on Monday evening to a message offering me the chance to go see the Black Star Riders at one of my favorite venues. I knew I wouldn’t turn it down.

I had not seen either of the support bands before so it was going to be interesting to see what the build up to the headliners was going to be like.

Gun came on with the crowd already building up, they brought their own blend of traditional British rock (Scottish to be more precise).

Black Star Riders, 14th March 2017, Rock City, Nottingham – review by Martin Tillyer

DSC_0040 DSC_0156 DSC_0124 DSC_0048

Their set had a good balance from their back catalog including the cover of Cameo’s “Word Up” and a cracking new track “She Knows” from Gun’s forthcoming album.

Set:

Let It Shine

Word Up!

Don’t Say It’s Over

Better Days

She Knows

Steal Your Fire

Shame On You.

Band – Dante Gizzi, Vocals – Jools Gizzi, Guitar – Tommy Gentry, Guitar – Andy Carr, Bass – Paul McManus, Drums

Following these were Swedish rockers Backyard Babies, This was a band I hadn’t previously heard of. From the start they were into a set that had far more pace with a harder edged rock with a heavily Punk influenced sound, bringing to mind bands such as Hanoi Rocks.

Black Star Riders, 14th March 2017, Rock City, Nottingham – review by Martin Tillyer

DSC_0318 DSC_0255 DSC_0324

Set:

Th1rte3n or Nothing

Dysfunctional Professional

The Clash

Brand New Hate

Bloody Tears

Nomadic

Minus Celsius

Look At You

Band – Nicke Borg, Vocal – Dregen, Guitar – Johan Blomqvist, Bass – Peder Carlsson, Drums

Each of the support acts played for about 40 minutes, leaving about 30 mins until the Black Star Riders which soon went by. This was to be the third time I had seen them – the first was at Download. At that time I had not heard of them, but did initially think they sounded like a good Thin Lizzy covers band (we were not near enough to really see the stage and the weather was shocking)! I was so impressed with their original music, and when I returned home to investigate them and found that they had Scott Gorham on guitar it became a lot more obvious why! I bought the first album at that point. At that time the set was actually split 60 – 40 % of new tracks to the old Lizzy tracks.

Black Star Riders, 14th March 2017, Rock City, Nottingham – review by Martin Tillyer

Tonight, they started off the set with the title track of the new album “Heavy Fire” before leading into “Bloodshot” and “The Killer Instinct”. It was then back to the new album for “Dancing with The Wrong Girl”.

DSC_0645 DSC_0673

It is becoming obvious that they are a really tight unit giving their own blend of rock still with Irish influences which you would expect with Ricky as a front man.

Black Star Riders, 14th March 2017, Rock City, Nottingham – review by Martin Tillyer

“Soldierstown” and “Hey Judas” lead to two more of the new tracks, “When the Night Comes In” and “Cold War Love” which is a slower number, one of my favourites from the new album.

Black Star Riders, 14th March 2017, Rock City, Nottingham – review by Martin Tillyer

“All Hell Breaks Loose” speeds it up again next, followed by a track that I, perhaps controversially, feel didn’t need to be in the set, “The Boys are Back in Town”. Time has moved on and now into their third album they are definitely a band in their own right and in my opinion they don’t need to keep the Lizzy Link going.

Back then to “Hoodoo Voodoo”, “Who Rides the Tiger”, another faster punchier number, followed by “Blindsided”.

Black Star Riders, 14th March 2017, Rock City, Nottingham – review by Martin Tillyer

“Thinking About You Could Get Me Killed” and “Testify or Say Goodbye” from “Heavy Fire” lead into penultimate tracks “Kingdom of the Lost” and “Bound for Glory”.

With the finale of “Finest Hour”, BSR had been on stage for well over an hour and I wish it could have lasted much longer – an amazing performance as I had expected.

Black Star Riders, 14th March 2017, Rock City, Nottingham – review by Martin Tillyer

I did hear people saying at the end they wished they had played more Thin Lizzy… but to me, they are the BLACK STAR RIDERS and nothing else is required.

Thank you, until the next time…

Review and photos by Martin Tillyer

Editor: Fi Stimpson

Advertisements

You Might Also Like :

Back to Featured Articles on Logo Paperblog

These articles might interest you :

  • Is High Cholesterol Dangerous on A Low-Carb Diet?

    Is high cholesterol dangerous on a low-carb diet? For some people, the "bad" LDL cholesterol goes up, while other aspects improve (like the "good" HDL... Read more

    By  Dietdoctor
    DIET & WEIGHT, HEALTH, HEALTHY LIVING, MEDICINE
  • [NYC] Go! Go! Curry!: Dinner in a Hurry!

    [NYC] Curry!: Dinner Hurry!

    This post is going to be quick and dirty, just like a meal at Go! Go! CURRY! in NYC. After hippoCHAN finished class, it was already pretty late and we were... Read more

    By  Foodobyte
    DINING OUT, FOOD & DRINK, RECIPES
  • Choose the Right Generator for the Right Purpose [Infographic]

    Choose Right Generator Purpose [Infographic]

    Choosing the right generator for the task is very important but sometimes we find it difficult to pick the right one as there are many options available. Read more

    By  Kravelv
    HOME, HOME IMPROVEMENT
  • My Garden Right Now

    Garden Right

    I'm writing this post specifically in order to participate in Michelle Chapman's meme called #mygardenrightnow. If you want to know the full story behind this,... Read more

    By  Mwillis
    GARDENING, HOME
  • Most Sociable and Friendly Cities in the World

    Most Sociable Friendly Cities World

    The most sociable cities of the world were revealed by booking website “Hostelworld” following a study which covered 39 cities in 28 countries. Read more

    By  Poundtravel
    TRAVEL
  • Getting Summer Ready with Herbs & More

    Getting Summer Ready with Herbs More

    Hey beautifuls, hope you all are doing great. Mumbai is burning, and perhaps I am seeing the hottest February since the time I have come to the city. Read more

    By  Jhilmil D Saha
    HAIR & BEAUTY
  • The Atomic Bomb

    Atomic Bomb

    Richard Rhodes' history of the development of the atomic bomb, The Making of the Atomic Bomb, is now thirty years old. The book is crucial reading for anyone wh... Read more

    By  Dlittle30
    SOCIETY

Magazines