Lifestyle Magazine

A Review of “The Orphan’s Tale”

By Lisaorchard @lisaorchard1

Hello everyone. I hope all is well with you. I’ve been working on my latest WIP and I’m excited about this new one, too. I’ve sent my first one off to my Beta reader and she gave me some quick feedback. She told me the opening was AWESOME! So, you can guess I’m beyond excited. I’ll keep you posted as she continues reading the rest. 🙂

I’m back today to share with you my thoughts on “The Orphan’s Tale.” The cover and blurb are below:

The Orphan's Tale: A Novel by [Jenoff, Pam]

“Readers who enjoyed Kristin Hannah’s The Nightingale and Sara Gruen’s Water for Elephants will embrace this novel. ” —Library Journal

“Secrets, lies, treachery, and passion…. I read this novel in a headlong rush.” —Christina Baker Kline, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Orphan Train

A powerful novel of friendship set in a traveling circus during World War II, The Orphan’s Tale introduces two extraordinary women and their harrowing stories of sacrifice and survival 

Sixteen-year-old Noa has been cast out in disgrace after becoming pregnant by a Nazi soldier and being forced to give up her baby. She lives above a small rail station, which she cleans in order to earn her keep… When Noa discovers a boxcar containing dozens of Jewish infants bound for a concentration camp, she is reminded of the child that was taken from her. And in a moment that will change the course of her life, she snatches one of the babies and flees into the snowy night. 

Noa finds refuge with a German circus, but she must learn the flying trapeze act so she can blend in undetected, spurning the resentment of the lead aerialist, Astrid. At first rivals, Noa and Astrid soon forge a powerful bond. But as the facade that protects them proves increasingly tenuous, Noa and Astrid must decide whether their friendship is enough to save one another—or if the secrets that burn between them will destroy everything.

As you know, I love reading WWII stories. Especially ones where the main character, usually a Jew, overcomes the adversity of Nazi Germany and that is exactly what this story is about.

I absolutely loved it.

It’s the story of Noa and Astrid. How they meet and their relationship. I loved Noa who is young, strong, and naïve. She’s kicked out of her home when she becomes pregnant by a German soldier. She goes to a home for unwed mothers and because her baby has German blood, he is taken away from her. Mourning her loss, she finds work at the train station and happens upon a car full of babies. I won’t tell you what happens next, but it’s an incredible story.

Then there’s Astrid a Jew married to a German who’s also a member of the Nazi party. He comes home one day and tells her the marriage is over. The Reich is demanding that all members married to Jews get a divorce. She has to pack up and leave that very day. She travels back to her home town searching for her family, but they’re all gone. She used to be a circus performer so she travels to a competitor’s home inquiring about her family. She learns the awful truth and the owner asks her to join his circus.

The circus is how Noa and Astrid meet and the rest of the story takes off from there. They both have their secrets and the girls band together and protect each other. It’s an amazing story of friendship and survival. If you’re a WWII buff like me, you’ll want to read this story. I can see it becoming a movie very soon.

Like I said, I loved this story and I’m going to be looking for more books from this author. How about you, do you have any books you’d like to recommend? Leave a comment, I’d love to hear from you! 🙂


You Might Also Like :

Back to Featured Articles on Logo Paperblog

These articles might interest you :

  • Is High Cholesterol Dangerous on A Low-Carb Diet?

    Is high cholesterol dangerous on a low-carb diet? For some people, the "bad" LDL cholesterol goes up, while other aspects improve (like the "good" HDL... Read more

    By  Dietdoctor
    DIET & WEIGHT, HEALTH, HEALTHY LIVING, MEDICINE
  • [NYC] Go! Go! Curry!: Dinner in a Hurry!

    [NYC] Curry!: Dinner Hurry!

    This post is going to be quick and dirty, just like a meal at Go! Go! CURRY! in NYC. After hippoCHAN finished class, it was already pretty late and we were... Read more

    By  Foodobyte
    DINING OUT, FOOD & DRINK, RECIPES
  • Choose the Right Generator for the Right Purpose [Infographic]

    Choose Right Generator Purpose [Infographic]

    Choosing the right generator for the task is very important but sometimes we find it difficult to pick the right one as there are many options available. Read more

    By  Kravelv
    HOME, HOME IMPROVEMENT
  • My Garden Right Now

    Garden Right

    I'm writing this post specifically in order to participate in Michelle Chapman's meme called #mygardenrightnow. If you want to know the full story behind this,... Read more

    By  Mwillis
    GARDENING, HOME
  • Most Sociable and Friendly Cities in the World

    Most Sociable Friendly Cities World

    The most sociable cities of the world were revealed by booking website “Hostelworld” following a study which covered 39 cities in 28 countries. Read more

    By  Poundtravel
    TRAVEL
  • Getting Summer Ready with Herbs & More

    Getting Summer Ready with Herbs More

    Hey beautifuls, hope you all are doing great. Mumbai is burning, and perhaps I am seeing the hottest February since the time I have come to the city. Read more

    By  Jhilmil D Saha
    HAIR & BEAUTY
  • The Atomic Bomb

    Atomic Bomb

    Richard Rhodes' history of the development of the atomic bomb, The Making of the Atomic Bomb, is now thirty years old. The book is crucial reading for anyone wh... Read more

    By  Dlittle30
    SOCIETY

Magazine